RSS Feed

CSA eats! buttermilk raspberry muffins

Posted on

I was so excited at CSA pickup to see raspberries!!! our old CSA only did strawberries and watermelon whereas the new CSA has many different berries/fruits! also there was no limit but they were 6 points a pint so I couldn’t go overboard. yet again I found a recipe that uses buttermilk (and I still have more buttermilk, agh). I didn’t freeze the raspberries for long, maybe 45 minutes if that because I didn’t realize they needed to be frozen. I think the reason to freeze them would be so they stay whole and don’t break up easily. The blogger who posted this recipe mentioned how she wished she had mashed the berries up a bit so I figured my some what mushy berries would be fine! I love the way the muffins look. pink and speckled! with the raspberries really broken up inside. I subbed coconut oil and omitted the orange zest, I had intended to use the vanilla bean but mine were all dried out, so I doubled the extract.

buttermilk raspberry muffins from picky cook who adapted it from JoyofBaking.com
2 1/2 c. all purpose flour
3/4 c. sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
zest of 1 orange (medium size) (omitted)
1 large egg lightly beaten
3/4 c. buttermilk
2/3 c. canola oil (I used coconut oil)
1 tsp vanilla (doubled)
2 c. frozen raspberries
2″ vanilla bean scraped (omitted)
1/4 tsp cinnamon (vietnamese) (I used regular)
pinch of fresh grated nutmeg

preheat oven to 375
grease muffin tin (12) and place paper muffin liners
in medium bowl, whisk egg, buttermilk,oil, vanilla, and vanilla bean with fork….set aside
in large bowl, combine flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and orange zest.
gently fold in the berries.
gently pour the wet onto the dry and fold to combine. do not over mix.

fill each muffin cup to the top. place in the center of the oven.
bake about 25 min or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

