RSS Feed

csa eats! Whole-Wheat Carrot Applesauce Muffins

these muffins are AMAZING! 100 days of real food is one of my most FAVORITE blogs. I added more carrot than it called for since I have so much of it and it was in big/thick shreds from the food processor. Next time I am going to try subbing coconut oil for the butter. I didn’t realize until I went to make this that it called for an electric whisk. I used the food processor since I don’t have my kitchen aid mixer at the moment and it worked GREAT! I am learning more and more that a food processor does so many things you wouldn’t have thought it could do!

UPDATE! I am now making these without the aid of a food processor or mixer. I just melt the butter even though the recipe says to just soften it. easy to hand mix all the wet ingredients together and then combine with the dry ingredients. I had been using just plain organic applesauce but recently got a great deal on some organic applesauce that is still unsweetened but includes nutmeg and cinnamon in it. I still add the cinnamon called for in the recipe and the ginger but the spiced applesauce just adds even more flavor. these muffins truly are OUTSTANDING, so moist! And you would never think it’s 100% whole wheat flour. this makes 12 muffins and it is important to fill them way up as they won’t rise much. I use coconut oil spray to prevent sticking.

whole wheat carrot applesauce muffins from 100 days of real food 

INGREDIENTS
  • 1½ cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup butter (1 stick), softened (but not melted)
  • ½ cup honey (I use this raw honey but have made it with regular organic honey as well) 
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (I use my homemade vanilla)
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • ¾ cup carrot shreds (I used about 1 cup, shredded in the food processor)
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with paper, foil, or silicone liners, and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, and salt.
  3. In a large bowl fitted with an electric whisk (or beaters), mix the butter, honey, egg and vanilla together on medium speed. Turn the speed down and slowly add in the flour mixture until well combined. The batter will be fairly thick at this point.
  4. Using a spatula, carefully fold in the applesauce and carrots. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups. Bake for 22 to 24 minutes or until a toothpick comes and muffins are beginning to turn golden brown on top.
One response »

  1. Pingback: winter CSA 2013 – month 1 | dolce vita verde

Leave a Reply

