RSS Feed

csa eats! beet brownies again plus food processor whipped cream

Posted on

back in 2011 I made beet brownies for the first time. I remember them being yummy! This year I cam across another beet brownie recipe while searching for things to do with my CSA beets. this one caught my eye because it included cocoa powder! double the chocolate, double the yum! I used coconut oil instead of oil and didn’t have dark chocolate cocoa powder. Also I had some left over heavy cream from a different recipe and wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it. My kitchen aid mixer is in storage but I recently borrowed my MIL’s food processor.  A quick google search found that you can make whipped cream with a food processor so I had to try it out.

chocolate beet brownies from the way to my family’s heart

2 large beets, peeled (I used 1 cup of previously made roasted beet puree)
3 large eggs
2/3 cup brown sugar
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup oil (I used coconut oil)
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cup cocoa powder (Hershey’s makes a dark chocolate cocoa powder that I like to use in these brownies)
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher or sea salt
1 cup chocolate chips, at least 60% cocao

In a medium saucepan, cover the beets with water by an inch.  Place the pot over medium high heat and bring the water to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium and simmer the beets until they are soft enough to easily be pierced through the center with a knife, about 25 minutes.  Drain the beets and puree them.  You may need to add a tablespoon or two of water to the beets to get them to puree smoothly, Add only what you need.  Set the beet puree aside to cool. (I used 1 cup of previously made roasted beet puree. I preheat the oven to 400. Scrub the beets. Cut the bottom and top off the beet. wrap each beet in tin foil and place in an oven safe dish or baking pan. roast until very tender about 1 hour. let cool. unwrap and you should be able to easily peel the skin off with your hands. wear gloves if you don’t want slightly pink hands! then I throw them all in the food processor and whiz away. I usually do several at a time and it freezes well in baby food cubes.)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl whisk together the eggs, oil,  and sugars.  Add the vanilla extract and beet puree and whisk to fully combine.  Mix the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt into the wet ingredients.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into a 9×13 inch baking pan that has been sprayed with cooking spray or lined with foil or parchment.  Bake for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the brownies comes out clean but still moist.  Cool the brownies completely before cutting.  They will keep in an airtight container for 3 days.

food processor whipped cream
here are some links I found about using the food processor
http://www.thekitchn.com/tip-for-perfect-whipped-cream-138899
http://noshon.it/tips/perfect-whipped-cream-in-food-processor/
I just used whatever heavy cream I had left – probably 1/2 a cup. splashed in some homemade vanilla extract. and a couple of shakes from my organic sugar jar. I hit the pulse button a few times over and over, maybe a couple of seconds each time and frequently checked to see how it was thickening up. took maybe 2 minutes? tasted great!! a little different in consistency but not drastic. way easier than lugging out the kitchen aid mixer! But I do miss that baby.

One response »

  1. Pingback: winter CSA 2013 – month 1 | dolce vita verde

Leave a Reply

