RSS Feed

crockpot applesauce

Posted on

we went apple picking and came home with 30lbs of apples!

decided to make applesauce and am so glad I did. it made the house smell amazing all day. I didn’t put any lemon juice or peel. Used 8 apples, different kinds, varying sizes. Put 2 tsp of my homemade vanilla extract. Its pretty sweet so next time I would decrease the amount of brown sugar. I cooked it for closer to 8 hours because I lifted the lid a lot. I gave it a quick mash with a potato masher and it was the perfect consistency. It only made one pint jar. here is the recipe I followed:

crockpot applesauce from mommy makes it better

Ingredients:

8 medium apples

1 strips of lemon peel – use a vegetable peeler (omitted)

1 tsp fresh lemon juice (I used 2 tsp of homemade vanilla extract instead)

3 inch cinnamon stick

5 tsp light brown sugar (unpacked)

1.  Peel, core and chop the apples.

2.  Add the sugar, lemon peel, lemon juice and cinnamon stick.

3.  Set crock pot to low and cook for 6 hours. (I cooked around 8 hours) Stir apples occasionally, apples will slowly become a delicious applesauce. Remove cinnamon stick and use an immersion blender to blend until smooth or if you prefer a chunky sauce, leave sauce intact. (I just used a potato masher)

4.  Can and process as you would other recipes or keep refrigerated up to 3 weeks.

Leave a Reply

