RSS Feed

red currant yogurt cakes

Posted on
I found these lovely red currants at the Chatham Farmers Market. This is the first time I have bought, tasted and baked with currants. I modified the recipe below and it is really tasty! I still have a TON of currants left, I guess I should have put more in this.
20130716_173111
Red Currant Yogurt Cakes
adapted from Author: Isabelle Boucher (Crumb)
Ingredients
  • ½ cup plain whole-milk yogurt (I used trader joes non fat organic greek yogurt)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • ½ cup canola oil (I used organic unsweetened applesauce)
  • 1½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp grated lemon zest (totally forgot this!)
  • 1 cup fresh red currants
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease and flour the cups of a mini-loaf pan (or a jumbo muffin tin, if you prefer). (I used a regular 9×5 loaf pan)
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together yogurt, sugar, eggs and canola oil until smooth and well blended.
  3. Add flour, baking powder, salt and lemon zest, and stir until the batter is smooth and silky. Pour into the prepared mini-loaf tin, dividing evenly between the cups. Scatter berries on top of the batter, using around 2 tbsp per loaf. (I mixed the 1 cup of berries with some flour and gently folded them into the mixed batter)
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 25-30 minutes, or until the edges are pale gold and a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the centre of one loaf. (If using a muffin tin, you may need to add another 5 minutes of cooking time.) (I needed to bake for about 1 hour)
  5. Let cool on a rack for 20 minutes in the pan, then turn out and let cool completely before serving.
Leave a Reply

