RSS Feed

almond oat cookies

Posted on

I had a ton of almond meal sitting in a container in the fridge left from when I made almond milk just begging to be made into something (anything!!)!! I searched around food blog search, pinterest and google. Became quite confused as to what to search for…. are almond meal and almond flour the same thing?! I am still not sure. Also I didn’t want to have to buy anything extra so that eliminated a lot of the recipes I was finding. I wanted a cookie or a muffin and something on the “healthier” side as I planned to let Matteo eat them as well. I was happy to find this recipe for Almond Oat Cookies and made just one substitution to make them dairy free for the kiddo (used coconut oil instead of butter). I also doubled the recipe because I needed to use up the two eggs I had in the house and use as much of the almond meal as possible. I use a silpat so no parchment paper was needed. I was quite surprised that my cookies were slightly stuck though…. nothing ever sticks to a silpat! Turns out I think I just made them too thin. They were so thin some of them that the crumbled immediately. I don’t care though because they taste AMAZING!! I made 12 first as I didn’t want to use a second pan for the rest of the batter, so I made the next batch much much bigger and thicker – only 5 cookies – and they held up really well, didn’t stick and didn’t fall apart. I did have to cook those for 12 minutes though because of the added size.

Almond Oat Cookies adapted from A Full Measure of Happiness 

the recipe makes about a dozen big, thin, crunchy on the edges, soft in the middle cookies

  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 1/4 C butter, melted (melted coconut oil instead)
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 C rolled oats
  • 1/4 C almond flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • handful whole almonds (omitted)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Whip the egg and sugar together until light, then add the melted butter (subbed melted coconut oil) and vanilla.  Mix in the oats, almond flour, and baking powder and stir until combined.

Drop spoonfuls onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, giving them enough room to spread out. put one whole almond in the middle of each cookie, but you could also chop ‘em and sprinkle them over the tops. (I omitted the topping)

Bake them on the middle rack for about ten minutes until the bottom and edges are golden brown.  Allow them to cool on the baking sheet for about five or ten minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

