RSS Feed

black eyed pea salad

Posted on

this is a recipe my MIL makes and she had me make it for an event. it tastes so yummy. I made it exactly as stated though next time I will try to use a different kind of corn, since I could only find the “shoepeg” corn made by green giant and it has additives like sugar. I am thinking next time frozen corn with no yuckies added would be better 🙂 I had my black beans from whole foods in a box so it is less than a can – I think 13 oz vs 15 oz. I meant to look and see if WF carries organic black eyed peas in a box but didn’t and MIL said to go with goya for the black eyed peas…. again tons of chemical additives. I rinsed the heck out of the peas and corn hoping to “wash” away some of the nasties, even though the instructions don’t say to rinse….. (shhhhhhh!) Always use organic peppers! they are always on the “dirty dozen”.  I really wish also that this didn’t have a ton of sugar added. Hoping to reduce it next time or use another sweetener in it’s place. it’s a great recipe though and it can be adapted to add different beans or veggies, etc.

1 can black eyed peas

1 can black beans

1 can white shoepeg corn

4 stalks of celery, chopped small

1 red pepper, chopped small

1 green pepper, chopped small (I used orange instead)

1 red onion, chopped small

1 jalapeno, chopped small

1/3 cup olive oil

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup sugar

whisk together oil, apple cider vinegar and sugar. drain beans and corn and add to rest of chopped vegetables. mix all together! make a day or so ahead to allow everything to mix well.

Leave a Reply

