RSS Feed

crockpot: whole chicken!

Posted on

organic whole chickens were on sale at whole foods for $1.99/lb. I had always wanted to try cooking a whole chicken! So I figured now was the time. I had pinned the following recipes prior (The Best Whole Chicken in a Crock Pot from 100 days of real food and Crockpot Rotisserie Chicken from hubby approved recipes) and was just waiting for the opportunity to try them out.  I however wound up just putting the chicken in the crockpot sitting on a bed of large pieces of chopped onion. I then proceeded to douse it in herbs de provence and garlic powder. I heavily covered it in seasonings. That’s it! there is NO need to add liquid. over time the chicken and onions made it’s own liquid that literally was 3/4 of the way up the side of the chicken! I cooked it on high for 7 hours because I had a 5lb chicken (the first recipe said 4-5 hours for a 3-4lb chicken) but I think 7 was a bit much, 6 would have been better. The chicken was so moist, flavorful and fell right off the bone! so delicious!!!!!!

I saved all the drippings and  bones and onions, etc and put it in the fridge overnight. In the morning I put it all back in the crockpot to make chicken stock from this recipe (overnight chicken stock in the crockpot from 100 days of real food) and added trader joes mirepoix (just diced carrots, celery and onions). which was way easier than buying separate stuff and cutting it up though it was smaller sized pieces than the recipe called for. I skimmed off the fat after it cooked all day and then let it cool. Then we had to strain it a good three times to get out all the “stuff” and be left with just broth. I then froze it all in ice cube trays. Perfect for small portions!

I liked this list of 40 recipes for shredded chicken from moms by heart for ideas on what to do with all that chicken!!! But honestly we mostly just ate it as is with veggies or quinoa or rice on the side.

Leave a Reply

