RSS Feed

green baby: home made play dough!

this was so easy to make!! the recipe makes a very large batch, and I only had enough salt for one batch but wanted 4 colors! so instead of adding in one color of the food coloring like it indicated, I just made the recipe w/o food coloring. then I divided that cooked play dough into 4 separate bowls. I added a different color of food coloring to each bowl. I had the “market pantry” (target brand) 4 pack of food coloring. each bottle was .3 oz and I used the entire bottle. red, blue, green and an orange/yellow. now I don’t recommend doing this b/c you then need to knead the food coloring into the dough ball. needless to say my hands are still VERY stained! I have tried soap, vinegar and nail polish remover. the green food coloring is the only one that really stuck to my skin! and that was the third color I did out of the 4. WEIRD!!! once the 4 color doughs were mixed, I then divided each ball into two balls. so it was enough dough for two balls of each color. we are giving one set as a gift and the other to keep. it was very helpful that my cousin already made this recipe for us as a christmas gift so I knew the consistency to look for. kinda hard to explain but a good indication is when you are trying to stir and the dough just clumps up into a huge ball and sticks to the spoon. it is very soft a pliable.

Homemade Play Dough recipe from art nest

makes about 2.5 Cups

1 1/2 cups of flour
3/4 cups of salt
1 1/2 cups water
1 TB vegetable oil (I used sunflower seed oil)
1/2 TB cream of tarter (this is 3 tsp, now I want a 1/2 tbsp measuring spoon!)
*food coloring – I use the liquid kind

Mix all of the ingredients into a saucepan. Add the food coloring to your liking. – Children can help with this step

Adults only –
Set your stove top to medium-low (about a 2.5 on a glass top stove). Stand by the pan and stir occasionally. When the batter look is gone and the ingredients start staying together when you stir (5-8 minutes), remove the pan from the heat. Lay out some wax paper and scoop play dough onto the wax paper. I can usually start kneading right away, but make sure that you check the dough for heat – you don’t want to burn yourself!
Once the dough has been kneaded into a nice texture, place in an airtight container or zip lock. The snack sized zip locks work beautifully.

Leave a Reply

