RSS Feed

CSA eats! black bean, butternut squash and sweet potato chili

I really love our winter CSA from shared harvest! One of the main farms that contributes to it is our regular CSA farm – Picadilly and the other is Riverland, plus there is Charlie’s Beans as well. I decided to search around for a black bean chili for Mr. Matteo and I (Chris does not like beans!). I came across quite a few that had either butternut squash or sweet potatoes. I decided to add both, since I already had leftover butternut waiting to be used and was too lazy to cut up another one (hey they are hard to cut!), so I made up the difference by adding some sweet potatoes. One of the butternut recipes called for carrot as well, so I threw that in there too! I love that this recipe used so many local yummy veggies I already had on hand – the beans, butternut squash, sweet potatoes, carrots, garlic and onion all came from our recent share box.

the two recipes I found and liked were this black bean sweet potato quinoa chili from with style and grace and this black bean and butternut squash chili from will cook for friends. I followed the seasonings and measurements off of the sweet potato one since it was for a smaller serving. I was torn on the grain to use, I had quinoa, couscous, farro and israeli couscous (both regular and tricolor!) to choose from but no bulgur which the butternut recipe called for. I wound up going with quinoa since I thought I should use at least one of the grains used recommended in the recipe.

black bean, butternut squash and sweet potato chili

approx 5 – 6 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 small sweet onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder (I had “mexican style” not sure that makes a difference but you might want to cut this back a bit for kids. Matteo didn’t mind, but it is a bit spicy, which I love and maybe he loves b/c he is our kid.)
  • 1 tablespoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 – 14.5-ounce can fire-roasted tomatoes [with juice]
  • 1/2 pound dried black beans, rinsed
  • 5 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • approximately a little less than 2lbs of sweet potato, butternut squash and carrot peeled, and cut into cubes (I had the large part of a butternut, 3 tiny sweet potatoes and 1 fairly large carrot)
  • 1/2 cup quinoa

Directions

In a large pot over, warm olive oil over medium-high heat.

Add onions and cook until soft and they begin to brown – stir often, about 6-8 minutes.

Add garlic; stir 1-2 minute. Sprinkle chili powder, coriander, and cumin over; continue to stir for about 1 minute.

Stir in tomatoes, black beans and add 5 cups water.

Bring to boil, reduce heat to low, cover and simmer until beans are tender, about 2 hours – stirring occasionally

Season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Stir sweet potatoes, butternut squash, carrots and quinoa and simmer uncovered over medium-low heat, just until all are tender – about 30  – 45 minutes. (I like the veggies very well done for Matteo).

Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Top with whatever you want!!!

Leave a Reply

