RSS Feed

csa eats! baked egg rolls and special veggie fried rice

cabbage, ugh. it’s not that bad but really not my favorite. so I like to find things to make that kinda hide it and kinda make you like it! someone suggested egg rolls, why didn’t I think of that?!? they came out soooooo good!!

I followed the recipe from the insert in the nasoya egg roll wraps. It was super easy and I made a few changes.

egg rolls

1 package nasoya egg roll wraps (I think there were 18 or 19)

1 lb lean ground pork

1 tsp minced ginger

2 cups cabbage, finely chopped (I shredded it in the food processor, it was a little less than half a head, probably a bit more than 2 cups.)

1/4 lb bean sprouts (omitted but added extra carrots and cabbage)

1/2 cup carrot, shredded (probably put a cup or so)

3 green onions, finely chopped

2 tbsp oyster sauce (omitted, added some fish sauce, tamari and sesame oil instead)

stir fry meat and ginger in skillet over high heat until lightly browned, 2 – 3 mins. add cabbage, bean sprouts, carrots and green onions, cook 2 minutes. stir in oyster sauce. let mixture cool. use 2 tablespoons filling for each egg roll. fold bottom  corner over filling, then fold in side corners. brush top corner with water and roll up wrap tightly to enclose filling, sealing roll with top flap. (there are pictures with the instructions on the insert).

heat oven to 400. place rolls on a baking sheet coated with non stick cooking spray (I use a silpat, no spray needed!). lightly brush tops with olive oil and bake until golden brown, about 10 – 12 minutes. (I flipped them half way through, which they needed!!!!!)

for “special” veggie fried rice I basically just round up a bunch of veggies I need to do something with and cut them up small. I saute them and in some cases cover it to steam the veggies for a bit if they are a tougher kind of veggie. once they are cooked well, I turn the heat up high to get a nice brown sear on some of the veggies. I add to this a mix of white and brown rice or all brown rice. A little sesame oil and soy sauce and viola, delicious rice! for this rice I used a kohlrabi, 5 salad turnips, baby bok choy, shredded carrots, minced ginger, mincend garlic….. basically just anything you’ve got! I always forget how much I actually like kohlrabi! it tasted great in this rice.

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: winter CSA 2013 – month 1 | dolce vita verde

  2. Pingback: winter CSA month 3 | dolce vita verde

Leave a Reply

