RSS Feed

csa eats! spinach tomato orzo soup

found this on pinterest. as I was making it I thought 2qts of chicken broth plus 2 qts of water would be WAY too much liquid. Plus my pan was 4.5 qts. so I decided to just do the 2 qts of chicken broth. I read the reviews of course afterwards in which many people said it was too much liquid, so I am glad people agree! the orzo did suck up a lot of the liquid, which was fine by me. it was more of a thick stew which I loved. I did add some extra chicken broth to the leftovers the next day. Baby M and I both gobbled this up over the course of a week. I of course added grated cheese to mine which really makes the dish! I also added a ton more seasoning while cooking.

Spinach Tomato Orzo Soup

Ingredients

1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 lb spinach, fresh or frozen, defrosted
1 – 15 oz can diced Italian tomatoes (with oregano and basil)
1 lb package orzo pasta
2 quarts chicken or vegetable stock
2 quarts water (omitted)
olive oil

Method

1. Preheat a large soup. Drizzle with olive oil. Add onions and saute until tender. Add garlic and saute for 2 – 3 minutes. Add canned tomatoes, spinach, chicken or vegetable stock and water. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to medium.

2. Add orzo cook for 12 – 15 minutes, or until orzo is tender.

Leave a Reply

