RSS Feed

csa eats! Pasta with Pancetta and Leeks

Posted on

this was really tasty!!!! I always feel like I don’t know what to do with leeks and this was a great dish for it.

Pasta with Pancetta and Leeks adapted from the pioneer woman

Ingredients
12 ounces, weight Pasta, Cooked Al Dente (I used 1lb, PW showed farfalle, I used large shells and thought they were perfect!! bits of pancetta, leeks and cream in the crevices, yum!)
Reserved Pasta Water, If Needed (not needed b/c I increased the cream)
3 ounces, weight Chopped Pancetta (I used 4 oz b/c I can buy a nice little container of cubed pancetta from trader joes that is 4 oz)
3 whole Leeks, Sliced Thin (I forget how many I had, but they were from our CSA and were spring leeks, so skinnier. maybe 4 or 5?)
1 Tablespoon Butter
1/2 cup Dry White Wine (I used pinot grigio b/c that is all I had)
1/2 cup Heavy Cream (I used 1 cup heavy whipping cream b/c that is all the store had)
Salt And Freshly Ground Pepper, To Taste
Parmesan Cheese, Shaved (I didn’t have Parm. I used grated pecornio romano since we always have that on hand)
Preparation Instructions
Cook pasta and set aside. Reserve 1/2 cup of pasta water.
Saute chopped pancetta until fat is rendered and it starts to brown. Add sliced leeks and cook for 8 minutes. When you add the leeks, add a pat or two of butter. add it after the bacon is browned, don’t want the butter to brown. After 8 to 10 minutes, pour in wine, then cook an additional 1-2 minutes, until reduced. Reduce heat to low, then pour in cream. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir in Parmesan shavings (or pecornio romano grated cheese). Toss in pasta, adding a little pasta water to thin as needed. Serve with Parmesan shavings over the top (or pecornio romano grated cheese).

One response »

  1. Pingback: winter CSA 2013 – month 1 | dolce vita verde

Leave a Reply

