RSS Feed

CSA Eats! crockpot chili

Posted on

I have some dried beans from this winter and last winters CSA. I decided chili needed to be made! Crockpot is the way to go since I don’t want to worry about it on the stove and I am feeling lazy. Two good friends sent me recipes and I just went from there with ideas and measurements.

Not sure about the beans I have. One is red – so I am thinking it’s a kidney bean, the other is white with a red part on it, not sure what it is. I also have another 1lb of red beans and 1/2 lb of black but I am saving those for something else. I had roughly a half a pound of each. according to central bean – a pound of dried beans yields 6 cups cooked and a one pound can of cooked beans measures 2 cups. so I figured if I used the 1 pound total of the above mentioned red and white beans then I would roughly have the amount of canned beans my 2 friends recipes called for (a can of black, pinto and kidney).

I did the quick soak method for the beans, since this is my first time dealing with this, I have no idea if  I did it right. I put all the beans in a pot of water, boiled for 2 mintues, then covered and let sit for one hour. drained.

into the crockpot went:

1 lb ground turkey

2 – 15oz cans tomato sauce

1 – 14.5 oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic

a little more than 1/4 bag trader joes frozen roasted corn

4oz can chopped green chiles

1 chopped onion

1 chopped red pepper

1 chopped green pepper

a lot of minced garlic (CSA, frozen)

2 tbsp mexican style chili powder

the presoaked beans (CSA)

mixed all the stuff together and cooked on low for about 7-8 hours

 

One response »

  1. I think I will make a pot of this on the weekend for the Superbowl – I’m more into chili than I am football.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

