RSS Feed

csa eats! beet brownies

I read at least a million beet brownie and beet cake recipes. just google it – there are A LOT out there!!!! I was looking for one that was really simple.

I wound up mostly following the beet brownie recipe over at Macheesmo.

However I pureed my beets rather than grate them uncooked as the Macheesmo recipe suggested. Also I put both semi sweet chocolate chips and bittersweet chocolate chips a full cup. I wish I had melted some of the chips b/c I felt like the brownies should have more chocolate flavoring throughout. I had considered adding some cocoa powder as other recipes had suggested but didn’t. Next time I will definitely do both of those things. Nevertheless these taste great!!! You absolutely can not taste the beets. Plus it is a lovely reddish/pink color! so fun.

Beet Brownies

Ingredients:

2-3 small raw beets, peeled and shredded (about 1 Cup)

(instead, I peeled and cut the beets into pieces and boiled in water for about 30 mintues until soft. then pureed in food processor. measured about 1 cup of puree for the brownies. I am not sure how many beets 1 cup of puree is. I was making boiled cut up beets for another recipe as well.)
1/2 Cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 Cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 Cup all-purpose flour
Pinch of salt (I forgot this)
2/3 Cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used 1 cup total, about 1/2 semi sweet and 1/2 bittersweet.) 

preheat oven to 350

butter (or spray, like I did) an 8×8 brownie pan

melt butter

whisk in sugar

stir in eggs

whisk in beets

add in the flour

stir in the chips

put batter in prepared 8×8 pan

bake for 30 minutes

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: csa eats! beet brownies again plus food processor whipped cream | dolce vita verde

Leave a Reply

