RSS Feed

CSA Eats! parsnip fritters

these were yummy!!! I did leave out the buttermilk, but I bet they would have tasted even yummier with it. next time! and I didn’t grate them with a box grater. I just threw my parsnips in the food processor, they shredded up perfectly! I don’t know how many pounds of parsnips I used, but I used way more than 2 parsnips, mine are quite small anyhow. They did have a thicker shred from being in the food processor. I still only stuck with one egg and just kept adding flour until I thought it was the right consistency. I did slightly burn the first batch, they do cook up quick like the recipe blog says.

Parsnip Fritters from Seasonal Ontario Food

225 grams (1/2 pound) parsnips (2 large)
1/4 teaspoon salt
fresh ground black pepper to taste (lots!)
1/4 cup flour
1 large egg
1/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup oil to fry

Peel the parsnips and grate them quite finely; they will cook better than if they are coarse. Toss them with the salt, pepper and flour. Mix in the egg well, then mix in the buttermilk to make a smooth batter.

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Put the batter in by spoonfuls to form small patties; you should get 6 to 8 of them, although you could make them even smaller if you like. When you see the edges start to look brown, turn them over and cook them on the other side. They cook very quickly – 2 or 3 minutes will do each side.

When they are done, blot them briefly on paper towel and serve at once.

Leave a Reply

