RSS Feed

csa eats! celeriac and potato latkes

the third variety of vegetable patties we made to use up a good amount of our CSA veggies! I had two smallish celery roots so I used them both and my potatoes were small so I used a good amount of those too. this batter was quite wet, plus I had more shredded veggie than it called for I am sure, so I wound up adding a lot more flour than it called for until it was at the consistency I thought it should be, even though I stuck with the 2 eggs it said to use. I shredded everything in the food processor. great way to use celeriac!

celeriac and potato latkes from food 52

 

2 medium red potatoes, peeled and grated (about 2 cups)

1 medium celery root, peeled and grated (about 1 1/2 cups)

1/2 cup red onion, finely chopped

3 tablespoons flour

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon salt

Olive Oil for frying

In a bowl, combine potatoes, celeriac, and red onions. Mix well.

Add pepper, flour, salt and eggs. Using fork, mix so eggs are evenly mixed in.

In a large skillet, heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil on medium-high heat.

Form latkes into roughly 2-inch mounds and add to pan. Flatten with spatula.

Fry each side for about 4 minutes before turning.

Add more oil as needed. Blot extra oil on paper towels before serving.

Leave a Reply

