RSS Feed

CSA eats! stuffed cabbage

I lookd at a bunch of stuffed cabbage recipes but in the end I just made it up as I went. I know one of the recipes I was considering called for putting raw meat in the softened cabbage leave and adding egg to it. I decided to just make the stuffing I use for stuffed peppers and go from there.

1 head of cabbage (CSA)

1 onion, diced (CSA)

2 cloves minced garlic (CSA)

8 oz can crushed tomatoes

can of tomoato paste

cooked white basmati rice (I used the frozen pack from trader joes – I think it is 2 – 3 servings of rice)

1 lb grass fed ground beef

preheat oven to 375

core cabbage (this was not easy. I just tried to cut the core out from the bottom, it is hard to do!) boil cabbage whole in a pan of water until soft. remove and let cool. carefully seperate leaves.

saute onions, garlic and beef until no longer pink. stir in rice and tomato paste. combine well.

I needed to use one 8×8 pyrex and one 8×11 pyrex. coat the bottom of each pan with cruhed tomatoes.

spoon filling into cabbage leaf and wrap around. place seam side down in pan. repeat until all done. top with rest of crushed tomatoes. cover in foil. bake for 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

