RSS Feed

csa eats! harvest vegetable pancake (with greens and goat cheese)

Posted on

so I super puffy heart LOVE goat cheese but because of my little man I can’t eat cheese. So I decided to skip the “with greens and goat cheese” part of this recipe. this came out really tasty and I was really skeptical because while mixing it all up something  just didn’t seem right. seemed weird! I wish I had a bigger pan or a little less of the mixture (I didn’t exactly measure things 100%, so it is likely my fault). the pancake came out great but not as crispy or as solid as I would’ve expected which I think was my fault! seriously I should measure things. I also used too much oil. All in all though it was really good! I will certainly make again, as it is a great way to make beets, and kinda hide them in something. it tastes so good I actually ate almost the whole thing myself in one day!

harvest vegetable pancake (with greens and goat cheese) from everyday food magazine

serves 4

says you can substitute cannellini beans if you want.

3 large beets (1.5 lbs), scrubbed and peeled (CSA)

3 medium carrots (CSA)

1 can (15.5 oz) chickpeas, rinsed and drained, half roughly chopped – how does one chop chickpeas exactly? I have no idea, I tried though. I wound up just mashing them a bit with a potato masher.

1 cup reserved cooked diced russet potato (page 79) – well I no longer had page 79… so I just microwaved 3 small potatoes with skin on and roughly chopped

1/2 cup all purpose flour

coarse salt and ground pepper

3 tablespoons EVOO

5 oz salad greens

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 oz fresh goat cheese, crumbled (1/4 cup)

grate beets and carrots on the large holes of a box grater set in a large bowl (or shred in a food processor). stir in chickpeas, potato, flour and 1 teaspoon of salt. season with pepper. in a large non stick straight sided skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium. add beet mixture and, with a rubber spatula, firmly press evenly into pan. cook, undisturbed, 10 minutes. remove pan from hear, cover with serving platter, and carefully invert pancake onto platter. slide pancake back into pan and cook until crisp and brown around, edge, 10 to12 minutes. invert pancake onto platter.

in a medium bowl, toss salad greens with 2 tablespoons olive oil and lemon juice. season with salt and pepper. to serve, top pancake with salad and goat cheese.

One response »

  1. Pingback: csa 2012 week 5 « dolce vita verde

Leave a Reply

