RSS Feed

Lactation Cookies

Posted on

Lactation Cookies are basically just oatmeal chocolate chip cookies with a few secret ingredients added. Flaxseed meal, oatmeal and brewers yeast are supposed to help boost milk supply. Halved this recipe as I didn’t want 12 dozen. However it only made 23 cookies for me, so about 2 dozen. I used my cookie scoop and had 12 per cookie sheet. I had to make these dairy free. So I used Earth Balance Soy Free in place of the butter. However I ran out of it. I think I put about 1/4 cup instead of the 1/2 I needed. I then added a small amount of canola oil to make up for it. But the batter at the end seemed way too thick. So then I added 1/2 cup of applesauce. Then the batter seemed to loose/goopey. So then I added 2 more tablespoons of flour. used my dairy/soy free enjoy life mini chocolate chips. The end results was really tasty! can’t taste the brewer’s yeast, well not sure what it tastes like anyhow as I’ve never had it before. These cookies are really light/fluffy/cake like than cookie like. we’ll see if they do anything milk supply wise. needed to bake the full 12 minutes. I also liked this blog and her recipes for lactation cookies and will try those out too. this one seemed more basic so I figured it was a good place to start! says to eat 4 per day.

update – made these again and again and again. followed the recipe and amounts exactly! it made 32 cookies. they are even better than the first time. maybe my cookie scooper just makes large cookies??!

I found the brewers yeast at whole foods – in the area where you find supplements and vitamins. I think it was close to $18 or so for the huge can. I couldn’t find anything smaller. Though I read somewhere about trying a store that sells supplies for home beer brewing.

Lactation Cookies from epicurious.com

makes 12 dozen

1 C butter
1 C sugar
1 C brown sugar
4 T water
2 T flaxseed meal (no subs)
2 Lg eggs
1 t vanilla
2 C flour
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
3 C Thick cut oats
1 C Chocolate chips
2 T Brewers Yeast (no substitutions)

Preheat oven at 375.

Mix 2 T of flaxseed meal and water, set aside 3-5 minutes.
Cream butter and sugar.
Add eggs.
Stir flaxseed mix into butter mix and add vanilla.
Beat until well blended.
Sift: dry ingredients, except oats and choc chips.
Add butter mix to dry ingredients.
Stir in the oats and then the choc chips.
Drop on parchmant paper on baking sheet.
Bake 8-12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

