RSS Feed

CSA eats! Morning Glory Zucchini Bread

Posted on

I totally started running out of stuff while making this! I had to make it dairy/soy free which was easy since the recipe didn’t call for dairy. However I had to grease the loaf pans with something, (cooking spray has soy lechiten) but I was fresh out of Earth Balance. I did have this container of the new item I saw and grabbed. Olivio Coconut Spread. which I can’t seem to find on the internet. But it’s basically a butter replacement. Made out of various oils – including olive oil and coconut oil. (worked awesome!!! the breads slide right out of the pans!) I used the huge farm zucchini I had which was about 2.5 cups shredded. I only had 2 eggs and had read on the flaxseed meal I had that it could be used as an egg replacer. 1 tablespoon of flax to 3 tablespoons of water and let sit a few minutes. Also I only put 1/2 cup sugar because I added a little less than 1/2 cup of enjoy life mini chocolate chips. I also ran out of flour! So I used 2 cups of all purpose but the third cup was whole wheat flour.

Morning Glory Zucchini Bread
from the Morning Glory Farm cookbook
copied from Amanda’s Cookin’

2 to 2 1/2 cups shredded zucchini
1 cup vegetable oil
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups sugar
3 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spray two 9″ x 5″ bread pans with nonstick spray.

In a large mixing bowl, combine zucchini, oil, eggs, and vanilla. Mix thoroughly.
Beat sugar into mix until it is thoroughly creamed.
Once liquids and sugar are well mixed, add flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Mix until batter is well blended and even in texture. The batter should be smooth, outside the zucchini shreds. If it’s not, add a little juice from the zucchini.
Pour batter evenly into pans.
Bake for approximately 1 hour, or until bread is brown and springs back when gently pressed in the middle.

Leave a Reply

