RSS Feed

cloth diaper reviews (diapers for day time)

Posted on

it seems this will be a constant work in process and updated frequently. I have a slight obsession with diapers, and apparently can not be 100% happy without  trying them all. I am on the quest to find that ONE perfect diaper!!!!! there are so many pros/cons for each style and type! Plus Baby M is just changing so much all the time and what works perfectly for a while then all of a sudden doesn’t. thank goodness there is such a great resale value on diapers and so many options for trials and awesome used return policies. I think my perfect diaper would have – adjustable leg elastic, snap closures, stay dry fleece lining, and probably an AIO or an AI2 vs a pocket. a one size would be nice. I am on the quest to find one!

here is my take on cloth diapering (cd’ing). there are two parts needed to diaper. #1 the absorbent part and #2 the waterproof part. some diapers have these parts all together some don’t and you put them together. It is as simple as that! some diapers come in one size (OS) meaning they will likely take you from birth to potty training (however not really! b/c most don’t fit well until 10+ lbs) and other diapers come in various sizes – x-small, small, med, large, x-large or just a two size system – size 1 and size 2.

before you read through my thousand reviews!!!!!!!!!!! let me cut to the chase. I love softbums, which are an AI2 diaper, they come in velcro and snaps, though I prefer the velcro. they make up 90% of my stash. I love and use tots bots bamboozles for night time, the absorbency is amazing. I have a few blueberry basix b/c they are a nice AIO with side snaps perfect for my little guy who loves to take off his velcro softbums when wearing just a diaper, plus they have really cute prints! I did love my tots bots easy fits but Baby M’s skin did NOT! they are an AIO similar to the basix but one size and velcro.

NEWBORN DIAPERS – they are oh so tiny!!! and I think really necessary. see my reviews and more info here. though I found softbums late in the game and they seem to truly be a one size diaper that will fit tiny newborns!! so I hope one day when I have another babe, they will work for us, and all I will need to get are the softbums newborn inserts.

FITTED DIAPERS/COVERS – basically a diaper you put on just like a disposable except it has no waterproof layer, so you then need to put a cover over it to make it waterproof. see my reviews and more info here.

ALL IN TWO’S (AI2)

an all in two is kinda cool and is the diaper I always wanted to go with. You have your outer shell which is the waterproof layer and then you have inserts that either lay in the shell or snap into the shell next to the babies skin. AI2 shells are made of PUL or TPU, some have just PUL on the inside (bestbottoms, flip), some have a mesh like material (grovia), some have fleece (softbums). Inserts come sized or one size and are made in various materials – cotton, organic cotton, hemp, bamboo, stay dry fleece with microfiber under, etc. the beauty of an AI2 is that you just need to change the insert and you can keep reusing the shell until it is soiled. it is a good idea with any shell/cover to rotate  it with another one throughout the day so it “airs” out in between changes. usually when a baby poops the shell gets soiled and can’t be used anymore. Shells cost way more than inserts and since an AI2 system uses more inserts than shells you can save even more money using this option! if you pre-snap or pre-lay in all the inserts into their shells, they are just like a disposable or AIO diaper. Also some AI2 diapers are called “hybrids” b/c they also have an option of a disposable and sometimes compostable insert.

CD review: grovia OS AI2

July 2011 – bought two of these before Baby M was born. my good friend L uses them exclusively and LOVES them! they have velcro closures. used a few times as covers for the NB kissaluvs and they worked great for this purpose, though they were a little big! poop never got out from inside the kissaluv so it never made it on to the inside of the shell which was great.

started to use the 2 velcro shells with their inserts. but I think they seem really bulky and too big on Baby M right now. not sure if they will always seem this way or if it will get better as he gets bigger. also every time he poops it gets on the inside of the shell. I kinda hoped that wouldn’t happen, but from what I’ve heard this is normal. the velcro is top notch especially compared to the thirsites velcro on those covers. the velcro always stays closed in the laundry and actually is kinda hard to open! it really sticks! the snaps are really nice and strong too. Baby M still needs it snapped all the way down to the smallest setting.

also have just a shell with snaps. I am still not sure if I am using the snaps right to close it. should watch a video or something and see! its the super cute new airplane print.

August 2011 – update – uh oh! baby M went poop and it leaked! grossssss. it didn’t leak out the cover near the leg it actually seemed to leak through the cover….. also the insert gets sooo bunched up in there which I think is part of the problem. if it wasn’t bunched and was laying flat maybe it wouldn’t have leaked. the insert was likely no longer covering the inner of the shell at the time… maybe if he was much bigger and not wearing the dipe snapped down this wouldn’t happen. but he isn’t going to be that big for quite sometime!

September 2011 – another update – still periodically using these! actually loving them lately now that Baby M no longer needs them snapped to the smallest size. he is just a little over 16lbs now.  I am still not crazy about the snap closure shell, can’t get the fit quite right, but do love the velcro ones.  going to give these a little bit more of a trial. since I only have two velcro shells and 2 inserts, I was able to get another shell and 3 more inserts from the diaper lab to try. we shall see! out of desperation one night I put the insert in a tots bots easy fit and Baby M actually didn’t leak, changed it at the 6 hour mark though. weird combo but hey I was desperate!

Jan 2012 – I gave up on these! I tried them periodically and they just didn’t fit Baby M right. too bulky in the crotch. I sold them off quick!!!

CD review – softbums echo (AI2/cover) and omni (AI2/pocket/cover)  OS

March 2012 – I have it for about 3 weeks via a trial. these diapers are REALLY cool. first the covers are lined with microfleece so only fleece touches skin not PUL (like best bottoms or flips). second they are OS and are known to fit even itty bitty babies! the echo can fit 6 – 35lbs and omni 7 – 40 I believe? so they fit babies sooner than most OS options do. the size is adjusted by elastics through the legs and toggles. like a drawstring bag. so no rise snaps. really cool and really unique! the differences between the echo and omni are that the echo is 1 inch narrower. the echo is just an AI2 or cover for other inserts/fitteds/prefolds whereas the omni does all that and has a flap opening to be stuffed like a pocket. there are just so many options here! they come in velcro or snaps. for now I only have one echo and one omni  both in snaps but I have 3 more omni’s on the way all with velcro. then the inserts that they sell are called pods. there is the stay dry aka opod – which is shaped like a traditional microfiber insert. it can be snapped on at the back end or stuffed in the pocket. it has fleece on one side for when it is next to babies skin. this is the only one I have right now. it has worked great so far. no leaks and a good fit. another option is the super stay dry which also snaps in on the back end, it is much longer than traditional inserts though and needs to be folded down to fit depending on the size your cover is adjusted to, (which also adds/doubles absorbency in the folded area) it can also be stuffed in the pocket and has fleece on top for when it is next to the skin. I have 6 of these coming soon to try! the third option is the bamboo organic cotton pod which is shaped just like the super dry touch, needs to be folded down. I have one coming to try! they also sell mini pods, stay dry and organic bamboo, to use as doublers or for the NB stage when the covers are small though those do not snap in(coming in snaps soon). so far I am really really really loving this system! love the great fit I can get on Baby M with the adjustable leg elastics! also it’s great to be able to have so many options with the omni cover. it also seems like this will fit Baby M for a LONG time and it can be adjusted really small to fit a second baby. seems almost too good to be true! an all in two system is really affordable as well since you only need a few covers which are the more costly part of a diaper.

have been using them for a week or so now and so far so good. I do think I prefer the omni over the echo, I think that extra inch in the crotch is helpful. though I hear the echo is better for NB’s because it is more narrow. the omni stuffed with the dry touch o-pod stood up to Baby M’s 2 hour belly sleeping nap  with no leaks! I am really liking the super dry touch pods, I feel like the longer length is helpful in the pod b/c it comes up higher in the shell. I also think it stays secure better and doesn’t shift, which can cause leaks. I am loving the shells with velcro! I do like the snap closure ones but the velcro ones help you get an even better more custom fit.

June 2012 – I have been using softbums exclusively for daytime! LOVE them. I wound up with 20 shells (7 are omni, the rest echo) all are in velcro. I just didn’t love the snap closure. the velcro is very nice and strong and is holding up well. I have 34 super dry touch pods! with this amount of shells and pods I wash every third day, and don’t even need to, but it isn’t good to go longer than that w/o washing. I do have a few opods and bamboos that I use occasionally and they work great, I just prefer the supers. I adjusted them all when I bought them and haven’t had to since. plus softbums puts out a new limited edition diaper every month, so I have been buying a new shell every now and then 🙂 I feel confident investing in them b/c #1 they will definitely fit Baby M until potty learning and #2 they will definitely fit a newbie babe whenever I have one. plus they work, all the time. no rash issues, no washing issues, no leak issues, no quality issues. they are great.

CD review – Best Bottom OS AI2

March 2012 – I have it for about 3 weeks via a trial. this diaper is pretty cool. the cover has double gussets which I always loved on the thirsites covers. it also has the nice elastic near the belly like the thirsties covers do too. it is OS but you have to buy the inserts sized which is both good and bad. the inserts snap in on both ends and there are several options. I got them in size large. one in stay dry and one in hemp/organic cotton. they also have overnight inserts and doublers. was able to snap down the rise which is great! means it has the potential to fit longer. they also sell waist extender tabs. I definitely prefer the stay dry to the hemp b/c it keeps his skin dry and I think it is important for his skin (so prone to rashes!). it fits really nicely, except after it’s on a bit the cover kind of sinks down fold over and under the top of the insert. it doesn’t do any harm as far as I can tell. I don’t like that the exposed areas of the inside of the cover are just straight PUL next to his skin. it seems like all other AI2 diapers have some sort of fleece or mesh to protect babies skin. it hasn’t leaked at all. the insert does get quite bunched in the crotch area it seems which I do not like. spraying poop off the inside of the shell is annoying b/c of the material the diaper sprayer bounces off of it and causes splashes, yuuuuck! the giraffe print is so darn cute though! I know that when the trial is over this diaper is going back, though I am glad I got to try it! I have experimented snapping the inserts into the softbums shell and they work ok in there but I worry that the hourglass  shape would cause leaks around the legs in non best bottom shells.

ALL IN ONE’s (AIO)

all in one’s are the closest cloth diaper to disposable diapers. the waterproof layer and absorbent layer and together in one piece and not separate. so all you need to do usually is just simply put in on and take it off your baby just like a disposable! however because all of the absorbency is sewn to the waterproof layer you can’t separate them. they take longer to dry than any other kind of cloth diaper. usually you can preserve the life of the waterproof layer (PUL or TPU) but not drying it in the dryer but with an AIO you just have to dry it in the dryer or you would be waiting DAYS for it to dry! some brands have made AIO’s with semi detached inserts so they wash and dry easier and faster.

CD review: grovia OS AIO

July 2011 – we only have it for 2 weeks – part of the “experiment to own program” from the diaper lab.

1st use – couldn’t remember if I should use both inserts or not. so I used both (you don’t have to actually, it’s meant as a doubler). It fit Baby M well on the lowest snap down. and the insert didn’t need to fold much (like the AI2 ones do). had to use the second to tightest snaps on both sides. at first I thought the side snaps were a little weird, but once I figured out what I was doing I kinda like the side snaps! the owl print is freaking adorable! it is very trim and fits Baby M’s skinny legs really well! the snaps all feel really sturdy, as I expected from using the AI2’s before. overall so far I really like it. the cotton inside is super soft, the outside is well made. he only peed in it so I am curious to try it out and see how poop does. I believe he had it on for about 3 hours or so? what was interesting is that the insert thing was wet but the rest wasn’t, which is nice. washing is a breeze because the insert is attached. if you use the doubler that snaps on I imagine it’s best to unsnap it, which is what I did.

2nd use – hmmmmmmmm I am thinking I don’t like the insert thing. it gets all folded and bunchy. looks like it can be really uncomfortable on Baby M’s little manly parts. I also worry that b/c it is so nice and trim it won’t fit as long as others would? if by some miraculousness he gets chunky all of a sudden.

CD review: tots bots easy fit OS AIO/pocket

July 2011 – we only have it for 2 weeks – part of the “experiment to own program” from the diaper lab.

1st use – this one is really interesting because it’s a pocket and AIO in a way. the insert is attached, looks kinda like a tongue. you then fold the insert into the pocket. the inside of the diaper is super super soft and cushy feeling bamboo. the velcro is really wide and strong. it stayed attached to the laundry tabs which was great.  this diaper seemed to absorb a lot! I left in on for a long time by accident. Baby M peed and pooped in this. no leaks or blowouts. it fits really nice and trim without a lot of fluff. plus you could always add stuff to the pocket if needed. Baby M never complains about being wet and I know his kissaluvs must feel sopping wet. they are like little towels!! But I’ve read that sometimes older babies will wake up/complain about the wetness. I did read that this could be fixed by using a reusable fleece liner. I got the cherry print which is quite girly! the diaper seems really well made and sturdy. it’s not made in China. and it’s made with as little chemicals as possible, etc.

2nd use – still really loving this! love the fit. trimmest pocket diaper so far. and trimmest AIO if you want to count it as one other than the grovia AIO. sad it only comes in velcro. but the velcro is top notch. I think I’d like to have a mix of velcro and snaps. drawback might be that it’s more costly than others. I like the bum genius 4.0 so far and while it isn’t as trim as the tots bots, it is certainly cheaper and has more options for colors/snaps/etc.

September 2011 – update – have 10 of these I think and have been using them consistently for a little over a month. no complaints really! not leaking. already  moved to the middle snap. staying clean. not giving Baby M rashes. take a while to line dry so I mostly but them in the dryer but worry about that long term on the aplix. the pocket is a little of a PITA to stuff, but at least it is attached and you don’t need to unstuff prior to washing. take up a good amount of room in the diaper drawer and bag though. but not super bulky on baby M. I do love them, but wonder if there isn’t a better option out there?!

October 2011 – wound up investing in A LOT of tots bots easy fits, and they are the only diaper we use for day time now. 28 in total! 6 bought used, and the others were mostly purchased on sale or with coupons/gift certificates/etc. loving these diapers! I did wind up with about 9 of the newer version which basically has softer feeling PUL on the outside. also the PUL is stickier on the inside. Supposedly the velcro is softer as well against babies’ tummy. some people love the new version/some people hate it. doesn’t seem different to me either way. I do have 3 or 4 with the older velcro, only difference is that one of the tabs does not have the ability to have velcro stuck to the top of it for a really small baby if you needed to crossover you could only do it on one side, rather than have your choice of either side. it doesn’t make any difference in the function of the diaper. it’s so weird that I purchased all of them in Sept and Oct and got some of the oldest version, older version and newest version depending on color and store selection. just happened to be a time of transition!

November 2011 – worked over a month with Bummis to get 7 of the newer PUL easy fits replaced. when they arrived to me I didn’t realize the leg elastic was significantly longer in comparison to all the other easy fits I had. it seemed really loose. they agreed and they were all replaced! apparently there was a mishap where some got longer elastic.

January 2012 – been having a tough time because I think the easy fits no longer fit Baby M!!! he became very mobile in Dec. crawling, standing, cruising along the furniture. I think even with the diaper all the way unsnapped the rise just hits in a funny spot and the thighs are just too tight. he is getting a very bad chafing/rubbing rash/redness outside the diaper from where the outside of the diaper rubs on his thighs. plus also in the area of the leg elastic b/c I think it is too tight. it’s not a detergent or washing issue because his night time diapers are totally fine and not causing issues and those are touching his skin full of pee for 12 hrs straight! for now we are going to stop using them and are seeking out alternatives 😦 turns out this thin strip of lining inside the diaper close to the legs is SUEDE CLOTH! I had no idea. Baby M had a horrible reaction to the suede cloth lining in the bum genius diapers. the diaper lab thinks that once Baby M became so mobile that thin strip of suede cloth in them just irritated his skin. I had to sell them all 😦 but did really well on the resale value!

CD review: bum genius elementals OS AIO

July 2011 – we only have it for 2 weeks – part of the “experiment to own program” from the diaper lab.

1st use – love that these are a real AIO.  took a little longer to dry than the others. not as trim as grovia AIO and AI2 or tots bots. more bulky. the rise even on the smallest snap down is higher as well. Baby  M had a huge pee and poop and nothing leaked out! nice that the cotton is super soft and organic.

2nd use- despite the previous huge poop, it isn’t stained! which is weird b/c I read these stain badly! I think that I like everything about this diaper except for the sewn in insert. it is so big and bulky. today it had managed to bend in a certain way and bunch up that when I took it off Baby M his little manly parts where red and looked like they were squished in a weird position by the insert. he’s all better now! but b/c of this I am leaning towards a NO for this one. too bad though b/c prior to this episode I really was liking it!

CD review – the new thirsties duo AIO (comes in two sizes)

March 2012 – I have it for about 3 weeks via a trial. so far I like this diaper. however I am not sure on the fit and how long it will fit for! it says 18 – 40 lbs I believe. it is snapped down to the medium rise setting, so it will fit in the rise a while but it is snapped pretty open on the waist, so I am afraid Baby M will outgrow it there at some point, but maybe I am wrong. this diaper has a neat concept because it has an opening or pocket almost behind the absorbent layer, so if you needed to you could add something behind it. it also has a stay dry fleece lining on the inside which is kind of hard to come by in an all in one. however I feel like there should be more of a fleece layer on the actual wet zone. these take FOREVER to dry. even longer than my overnight fitted diapers! insane. so that alone turns me off to it. I have to turn it inside out after all my other diapers are dry and then continue to run it through the dryer again. it is a really cool concept for an AIO and it seems to work great so far! eeeek there is a thirsties sale and I just bought TWO more of them and am contemplating getting two more. I like having some AIO’s around! they are just so darn easy to put on. makes a great diaper for the diaper bag. update: I returned them all….. I just didn’t like how long they took to dry. plus they didn’t seem like they would truly fit until potty learning.

CD review – blueberry basix AIO – size large

March 2012 – I have it for about 3 weeks via a trial. this diaper is really nice! it is similar to the tots bots easy fits that worked for us for quite sometime. it is an AIO – yet to help with dry time and to allow added absorbency it has a pocket. they insert is attached at one end so it agitates out in the wash on it’s own = no touching dirty inserts/diapers to separate the two, which is one of my peeves with pocket diapers. the pocket is open on both ends!!! the insert is microfiber. the lining of the diaper is fleece. the insert stays in very nice, with no bunching. this diaper is sized so there are no options for adjustment other than being able to snap the waist snaps tighter/looser. it is a side snap closure diaper. there are only three rows of snaps on either hip. I was able to close it on the tightest setting. but that leaves only two more options for sizes yet the rise on this diaper which is perfect right now I feel like may become too low in a short amount of time as Baby M grows. he is quite tall for his age already. the size large is for babies 22 – 35 lbs. I really really like this diaper so far, but I think the fact that it is “sized” makes it not a smart investment b/c #1 he may outgrow it before potty training leading us to need to purchase the next size/a different diaper and #2 it won’t be able to be used again for a second baby until that baby fits in that size. that is why the one size diapers really appeal to me as most fit 8 – 35+ lbs. I wish it was OS. I love the attached insert and the fleece inner. the fit is perfect right now! and the monkey print is adorable!!!! not sure if I will buy these or not.  I kinda want to keep it though b/c I just love how cute it is, tempted to buy their dino print too. it’s great to have some AIO’s around anyway. July 2012 – I finally bought some!! mostly b/c I think they are the perfect diaper to wear alone w/o any clothes. the side snaps prevent Baby M from taking it off and running around naked! plus the monkey, dino and cow prints are just so darn cute!! I do wonder though, I haven’t used one since the trial in March, and I remember back then the rise seemed short and I was on the middle to largest snap for closure. the larges I just got seem MUCH bigger! they are on the smallest snap closure and come up way higher in the rise. I think I may have had a medium for the trial?!?!?! the larges I have will definitely fit until potty learning. plus if I have another baby sometime in the near future, and will have 2 in cloth, the large size diapers just for Baby M will come in handy since I will need to use my smaller OS diapers primarily for the new baby (though I could just get more of those, I already have doubles of some of those prints/colors, LOL!)

POCKETS

pocket diapers are what make up the majority I think of cloth diapers out there right now. the waterproof shell has a pocket on the inside in which you stuff with an absorbent insert. one the baby has gone to the bathroom you have to remove the insert from the pocket in order to wash it. then when they are clean you need to re-stuff them so they are ready to use again. you could of course stuff them as needed as well. the beauty of the pocket is that you can customize your absorbency and put whatever you want/need in it. some put 2 or 3 inserts in there for over night or for a heavy wetter. you can use a mix of types of fabrics such as microfiber and hemp, since microfiber absorbs fast but then hemp holds a lot! the layer inside the pocket next to your baby is usually stay dry microfleece or suedecloth. a few brands make them with just natural cotton. the shells can line dry and dry quick and the inserts can be washed really well since the water touches all the surface areas. once stuffed they are just like an AIO and a disposable diaper. I do NOT like pocket diapers. the act of un-stuffing dirty ones and then re-stuffing clean ones is a huge PITA. plus I feel that the insert always bunches too much in between the legs and therefore causes leaks.

CD review: fuzzibunz OS pocket

July 2011 – we only have it for 2 weeks – part of the “experiment to own program” from the diaper lab.

1st use – I really didn’t think I was going to like this diaper. it took awhile to figure out what setting to put the adjustable waist and leg elastics at. Of course after the fact I read the packaging which has a size guide on it. Duh! but I had set it at the right size, so that was good (#4). I only used the smaller insert in it but it is nice that it comes with an additional larger insert. the pocket opening is a bit loose which worried me for some reason. what stumped me with closing the diaper was the snaps. there seems to be a lot of snaps but you can’t really use them all I think. it took me a while but I finally figure out how to snap it closed while making sure it was even. it fit Baby M pretty well. he only peed in it though. what I found really cool was that the fleece layer that touches the baby isn’t wet, yet the insert once you pull it out is super wet! since I’ve been using kissaluvs on him and this was my first experience really with fleece I had no idea this would happen. At first I thought he hadn’t gone to the bathroom.  it was super easy to wash/dry.

2nd use – when stuffing it out of the dryer, I realized the insert isn’t laying as flat as I would like inside the dipe. seems like its going to bunch up. it wasn’t like this at first but I think that is b/c I had the insert in while the dipe was fully expanded and then adjusted the leg elastics, etc. so not that it is smaller the insert is harder to get in and get it to lay right. that is a pain. I am not going to undo the elastics everytime to then stuff them and redo the elastics again. I’m not crazy about the elastic adjustment feature anyhows – nor am I a fan of the snap configuration on these. bum genius 4.o seems to be basically the same diaper as this fuzzibunz one – same kinda concept/inner lining/pocket/etc. but the bum genius is better because the snaps are better and there is no adjustable leg elastic things.

Jan 2012 – can’t believe I am back to the fuzzibunz OS! borrowed 2 shells from my good friend L. I used thirsites hemp/cotton inserts in them. I liked being able to adjust the leg elastics and am able to get a really good fit on him. he really needs a more customized fit. I decided to buy a few more so I had enough for a day or so of use. they don’t sell them anymore, they updated them and now call them fuzzibunz elite. the elites are essentially the same diaper except – the elastics are completely covered now and the buttons you use to adjust them are hidden as well, all inside the pocket. they are a bit more narrow all around especially in the crotch and they come with minky soft inserts instead of the traditional microfiber. these fit Baby M amazing!! BUT there is a lot of discrepancy in them. I spoke with fuzzibunz extensively about it. about half of them came with very very narrow inserts. so narrow they didn’t fit the entire pocket seam to seam, which caused leaks around the legs from the lack of absorbent material there! the rest of them came with inserts that were almost too wide! they fit very tight and could not lay flat b/c of the extra width. these actually leaked less than the narrow ones but still caused leaks b/c they would bunch and roll a lot. the narrowness of the crotch which made the diaper fit so well was also a hindrance though b/c no matter what insert I tried in them it just seemed too wide. fuzzibunz at first seemed to say that the narrow inserts were wrong and offered to replace them. they said that when the elites first came out they were sent out with the wrong sized inserts. I received replacement inserts for the narrow inserts, but those too were the same narrow ones! after talking with them more – they then said it was the wide ones that were wrong, not the narrow ones. and sent more narrow ones! I luckily had purchased these diapers knowing I had the option to return them at the 30 day mark if I did not like them. I did learn that I love a microfleece lining. it is perfect for Baby M’s skin! kept him rash free and so nice and dry. I love the concept of a diaper without rise snaps on the outside providing a clean look. also loved the ability to adjust the legs and waist so much! but sadly the insert issue just was too much and just couldn’t trust that they wouldn’t leak b/c they did so many times 😦 fuzzibunz customer service I must say though is OUTSTANDING! and their lifetime warranty is the only of it’s kind right now! I considering buying some of the old style OS used, but I do not like the exposed elastic and buttons on the inside at all! they really make a deep mark on Baby M’s skin and he is so sensitive! one thing I don’t care for in both the old and new elite styles is that fact that the pocket opening doesn’t have a flap. pocket diapers really need a flap! it prevents the elastic/PUL layer from touching the baby and cutting into the skin.

CD review: fuzzibunz perfect size – size medium – pocket

Jan 2012- can’t really review this! I bought it, tried it on Baby M with a barrier between him and the diaper. it is way TOO BIG! even though it says it fits 15- 30lbs and he is around 23 lbs, it was gaping big around the legs, I could see right into the diaper! even with the waist snaps closed the tightest they would go! weird! so I am contemplating selling it vs. holding on to it until it fits?!

CD review: swaddlebees econappi OS pocket

July 2011 – we only have it for 2 weeks – part of the “experiment to own program” from the diaper lab.

1st use – not as trim as grovia AIO or tots bots. more bulky. the rise even on the smallest snap down is higher as well. the inside is so luxurious. comes with two inserts. one of which is super long and can snap into different sizes. not sure I am sold on this one. I thought I would really like it – but I think it’s the insert that is questionable. seems like it could bunch up. plus these are SUPER expensive!

CD review: bum genius 4.0 OS pocket

July 2011 – we only have it for 2 weeks – part of the “experiment to own program” from the diaper lab.

1st use – not as trim as grovia AIO or tots bots. more bulky. the rise even on the smallest snap down is higher as well.

2nd use- I think I am really liking this dipe! put it on Baby M in the middle of the night. left it on probably for 6+ hours. he only peed in it but no leaks, etc. the lining stayed nice and dry, though the insert was super wet! using it on the smallest snap down. it has velcro which seems really sturdy and stayed fastened to the laundry tabs during the wash. comes in snaps too, which I have in the elemental I’m trying. not sure which I prefer…. so far I think it’s the 2nd trimmest pocket diaper. still using it only with the infant insert.

September 2011 – Update  – I wound up buying 12 of these as there was a buy 5 get one free sale. however after less than a month of use I came to the conclusion that they were causing a rash for Baby M. turns out some kids are very sensitive to the suede cloth inner on these diapers. also the stuffing of the pocket and unstuffing as well was getting to be quite time consuming and annoying!!!!!!!! also as Baby M got chunkier it was harder to get a good fit. sometimes they would leak, sometimes they wouldn’t. I was using both the reg insert and NB insert at times. at night I needed to use both plus an additional NB insert and was still getting leaks in random spots – came to find out they are called compression leaks from the fluid being squished. I wound up selling them all on craigslist and made back most of my $$$$ which is great!

CD review: rumparooz OS pocket

July 2011 – we only have it for 2 weeks – part of the “experiment to own program” from the diaper lab.

1st use – not as trim as grovia AIO and AI2 or tots bots. more bulky. the rise even on the smallest snap down is higher as well. thick fleece. stayed dry. insert was pretty wet but didn’t leak, etc. love the color choices. seemed really bulky though and I thought it looked like it was hot. I felt like I would be sweating if I was wearing it, LOL. it is really similar to the lil joeys. which are the same, sans the pocket and much much smaller. we had 4 of the lil joeys, but we only got to use them about 2 weeks. they were super conveinent during that newborn time though, stains came right out and never leaked.

2nd use – has the same amount of snaps as the bum genius dipes I believe! but I have to snap the bum genius ones tighter than these. which makes me think the bum genius will last longer size wise? I realized today that these fit awesome in the back and legs. but in the front at the top/waist part it gaps out. like you can peer down into the diaper. weird! it’s so bulky there and it’s bound to leak from there I think?? we’ll see!

CD review: thristies duo diaper (comes in two sizes/pocket)

July 2011 – we only have it for 2 weeks – part of the “experiment to own program” from the diaper lab.

1st use – eh it’s OK. I knew I wouldn’t be crazy about it since we’ve been using the thirsties duo wraps as covers now for the kissaluvs. this is the same as the cover but it has a fleece inside and a pocket. the pocket is open on both sides. which is different than other pockets. not sure about it, since it seems it could leak. but it didn’t and I haven’t had issues with leaks with the wraps either. the leg gussets are really great, one of the reasons I do like it. my big gripe with it is the velcro. it’s flimsy. and the snaps also flimsy. the insert was nice. thin, two layer, snapped together. I really like it. plus this is a sized diaper so it won’t last all the way to potty training. and even though Matteo is only around 11 lbs I think, he is already not able to wear it snapped down to the smaller size. so the rise is looking pretty low on him, maybe because he is skinny and tall? seriously I love thirsties customer service, and the concept of the products but they just seem so flimsy!

CD review – oh Katy! OS pocket

March 2012 – I have it for about 3 weeks via a trial. not sure why I picked it! I really don’t think pockets are the way to go for us. But anyway, this is a pocket but it has some nice unique features. the pocket opening is in the front rather than the back, it also has a nice flap covering. it is really easy to stuff. the elastic along the back fits really well! there is some room to grow in these but I wasn’t able to snap the rise down at all. I got a pretty good fit on Baby M with the snap closures. so I think the rise runs a bit low. it is a really well designed pocket, one of the best I’ve seen. However it is much smaller than the other OS pockets out there.

PREFOLDS and FLATS

I haven’t actually used prefolds or flats. These are the “old school” diapers! but they seem pretty cool. I am sure they have been improved. these diapers are just big squares of fabric. and you fold them and secure them with pins or a cool thing called a snappi or boingo, which are way safer and easier than pins. then of course they need a waterproof cover to go over them. there are TONS of different ways to fold these diapers to fit and to best suit your needs and your baby. a lot of people use these as inserts for pocket diapers or AI2’s as well. yet others use them as burp clothes. they are probably one of the easiest diapers to take care of and keep clean/get clean. oh and they are CHEAP!!! money wise that is. the quality is usually very good!! maybe if I am brave one day I will try some out. I was so close to doing it when Baby M was a newborn b/c I learned that prefolds fit newborns exceptionally well and are an easy investment since they don’t cost a lot and your baby won’t wear them that long. green mountain diapers were the ones I would have went with!

Leave a Reply

