RSS Feed

CSA Eats! radishes, arugula and cilantro

Posted on

first CSA eats! post of the 2011 season.

I made this “mediterranean salmon”  from allrecipes with the cilantro. the basil was from my garden. only needed to broil for about 10 minutes. 15 would have been way too long! also I don’t flip my fish. I don’t know why it’s called mediterranean either, cause it’s not what I would think of as Mediterranean.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 4 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 4 (3 ounce) fillets salmon
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic salt

Directions

  1. Mix together the olive oil and balsamic vinegar in a small bowl. Arrange the salmon fillets in a shallow baking dish. Rub garlic onto the fillets, then pour the vinegar and oil over them, turning once to coat. Season with cilantro, basil, and garlic salt. Set aside to marinate for 10 minutes.
  2. Preheat your oven’s broiler.
  3. Place the salmon about 6 inches from the heat source, and broil for 15 minutes, turning once, or until browned on both sides and easily flaked with a fork. Brush occasionally with the sauce from the pan.

with the radishes and arugula I made the recipe that Picadilly Farm sent along with our email for the week. I used Earth Balance (soy free version) instead of butter, since I am dairy/soy free right now. It works just as well as real butter. I never thought I’d say that I love radishes but seriously this is my second time making radishes with butter and they taste really really good. the arugula in butter tastes good too! Chris and I don’t care for radish greens though, so those went to the compost.  the compost needs to rebuild since we used most of it in our garden this year.

Sautéed Radishes with Radish Greens or Arugula

From Farmer John’s Cookbook

2T butter (I didn’t measure, but I am sure I used more than that!)

1/2 lb radishes, quartered (I sliced mine into really thin circles)

2 cups radish greens or arugula (again didn’t measure, used what I had)

1T freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 1/2 lemon) (omitted since I didn’t have one)

Salt, pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the radishes; cook, stirring constantly, until tender but still crisp, about 5 minutes depending on size. Transfer to a bowl to cool. Return the skillet to stove.

Put the greens or arugula in the skillet with the wash water still clinging to the leaves. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, just until wilting, 2 to 3 minutes.

Turn off the heat. Add the lemon juice and radishes to the skillet; stir until well combined. Season with salt and pepper to taste, serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

