CSA eats! bok choy

Posted on

well I usually make potstickers with bok choy, but because of baby boy I am off the soy. (hey that rhymes). so I needed some fresh ideas and I found a bunch that I can’t wait to try. I chose this recipe because it was the only one that I had most of the necessary ingredients. I had to change things up a bit. I didn’t have sazon, but a quick google search helped me make my own. I had 1lb of chicken tenders, not bone in chicken. used a lot more bok choy then it called for too. served over white rice. the first step of melting sugar certainly did not work. it didn’t produce enough liquid, I added some canola oil. covering it would have been a very bad idea and tenders cook way faster than bone in. adjusted the amounts of seasoning for the smaller amount of chicken.  all in all it was a tasty quick meal that could definitely be repeated, would try to make it have more sauce to it though.

trini style chicken from allrecipes

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 pounds bone-in chicken pieces (used 1lb chicken tenders)
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder (1 tbsp)
  • 1 tablespoon sea salt (a few grinds)
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper (1/4 tsp)
  • 1 (.18 ounce) packet sazon seasoning (see below recipe)
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 3 bok choy stalks, chopped (half a head, leaves and most of stems)

Directions

  1. Stir together the garlic powder, salt, cayenne pepper, and sazon seasoning in a shallow dish. Coat chicken pieces with this mixture.
  2. Heat a Dutch oven or heavy skillet with a lid over medium heat for at least 3 minutes. Sprinkle the sugar over the bottom of the pan, and stir gently until it becomes liquid and caramelizes. Add the chicken, cover, and cook for about 25 minutes.
  3. Remove cover, and cook for another 15 to 20 minutes, letting the juices cook down until they are almost gone. Add the bok choy, and cook just until wilted.
for the sazon I combined 1/4 teaspoon each of:
garlic powder
ground coriander
cumin
oregano
paprika
I got the idea from a thread on chowhound – one of the posts said:
“Sazon means seasoning in Spanish; salt, ground black pepper, granulated garlic or garlic powder, dried ground coriander seed (I doubt whether you can find dried culantro, unless you get some and dry it yourself,) cumin, oregano and annatto seeds, ground. The achiote (annatto) is what makes the sazon reddish. You could sub paprika for the achiote, if need be. A good ratio is one Tbsp of each spice. Mix well and use 1 1/2 tsp for each packet of the Goya sazon called for. If you want very fresh, toast the cumin, coriander and peppercorns, grind and add the rest of the ingredients. Some of Goya’s varieties contain azafrán (saffron) but I’d skip that in a basic sazon preparation. Best part, no msg.
This authentic formula as been Puerto Rican approved, by my mrbushwick, a proud Boricua.”

Leave a comment