RSS Feed

CSA eats! carrots, onion and garlic in pasta e fagioli

made this to have for lunches at work. I love pasta e fagioli but Chris doesn’t so more for me!

pasta e fagioli from everyday food

the notes say “our version is thick, like a stew. To thin it, use a little extra broth”. (mine didn’t come out as thick as the picture showed, but it was still thick, I attribute that to the extra pasta)

serves 4 – total time 45 minutes

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 celery stalks, diced medium (omitted)

2 carrots, diced medium (CSA)

1 small red onion, diced medium (CSA, white)

2 garlic cloves, minced (CSA)

coarse salt and pepper

1 sprig oregano (omitted)

1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes (I used whole foods Italian)

2 1/2 cups low sodium vegetable broth

1 parmesan rind (optional) plus shaved parmesan for serving

1 cup small pasta, such as ditalini (I used about 2 cups tiny shells, and would have be fine with putting more!)

1 can (15.5 oz) canellini beans, rinsed and drained

In a medium heavy pot, heat oil over medium. Add celery, carrots, onion, and garlic; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are soft, 9 minutes. Add oregano, tomatoes, broth, and Parmesan rind. Increase heat to high and simmer rapidly until liquid thickens slightly, 5 minutes. Add pasta and cook, partially covered, until tender, 10 to 15 minutes. Add beans and cook until warmed through, about 3 minutes. To serve, remove rind and sprinkle with shaved Parmesan. (I didn’t use the rind, wound up stirring in some grated Parmesan, since I am storing it for lunches)

2 responses »

  1. I was thinking of making this, too! And I’ll probably use a parsnip as well. Sounds good. I’m in the same boat- don’t know if Gordon would eat it.

    I made the Turnip and Sweet Potato Gratin tonight- used a smoked bacon cheddar instead of gryuere and it came out really tasty!!

    Reply
    • ooh what is the recipe for the Turnip and Sweet Potato Gratin, I must have it somewhere if it was in the every day food? I don’thave anymore tunips though, so I guess it doesn’t matter! I have come to hate that G cheese for some reason.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

