RSS Feed

CSA eats! tomatillo's in Tomatillo Braised Chicken

Posted on

so tomatillos are a totally new thing  for me! they are strange and interesting looking. like tiny green tomatoes covered in a papery skin. I had to get a few more from the market to mix in with my CSA ones to make this recipe. Also my hot pepper plant isn’t doing so well. I thought it was so I didn’t buy any peppers that this recipe calls for since I thought I had some. My plants peppers have lots of tiny holes in them!!! So I had to improvise last minute and threw in a 7.5 oz can  of chilpotle peppers in adobo sauce. I think there was about 4 – 5 peppers in that can. I chopped them up a bit and did put in the sauce. which I think will really go awesome in this but maybe the end result will be more red than green in color though I guess.  My sauce came out really watery. not sure why?! so sad.  I believe it is because I used a HUGE pot.  which led to using a huge amount of water. I was able to drain off some and then boil it down a bit, but alas it wasn’t the chunky salsa type sauce Iwas hoping for, but still good. Also I really do not buy chicken on the bone, but for this I did.  I got two bone in split chicken breasts at whole foods. what’s the difference anyways between split and not split? the lady in front of me got split so I copied her.

Tomatillo Braised Chicken from A Good Appetite

1 T olive oil
1 small onion, about 1 heaping cup chopped (CSA)
2 cloves garlic, minced (CSA)
5 small peppers, seeded & chopped (used chilpotles in adobe sauce)
1 lb tomatillos, remove outer papers & then chop (some CSA)
1 T white wine vinegar (I only had red)
2 bone-in chicken breast with skin removed
salt & pepper

In an oven proof pan with a lid heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the onion, garlic & peppers then sauté until the onions are translucent. Stir in the tomatillos & vinegar. Let simmer until the tomatillos are softened & starting to break down, about 15 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Salt & pepper the chicken breasts. Lay the breasts in the pot with the tomatillo mixture. Add enough water so the sauce is covering the chicken breasts about halfway. Cover & put into the oven. Cook for about 20 – 30 minutes until the chicken registers 160 F on a thermometer.

Serve the chicken with rice & the tomatillo sauce.

2 servings

Leave a Reply

