RSS Feed

CSA eats! stuffed delicata squash

Posted on

Delicata Squash Stuffed with Wild Rice & Sausage from A Good Appetite

this is a great idea! and the A Good Appetite blog is great. I love stuffing vegetables, I’ve done stuffed acorn squash, stuffed zucchini, stuffed peppers, stuffed eggplant, etc. But it never occurred to me to stuff delicata squash. I changed up some stuff, well mostly left out stuff!

2 Delicata squash, cut in half lengthwise, seeds & pulp removed.
1/4 c wild rice (I cooked it in 1 cup chicken broth, I used a wild rice blend)
1 T olive oil
1 shallot, minced (omitted)
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 c peppers, seeded & chopped (omitted)
4 oz bulk Italian sausage (I used lamb sausage from Whole Foods)

Preheat oven to 400 F.

Place the squash halves cut-side down in a baking dish. Add water until the pan is about 1/2-inch full. Bake for 40 – 50 minutes or until the squash in tender.

Meanwhile, bring 1 c of water (I used 1 cup of chicken broth) to boil in a saucepan. Add the wild rice, reduce heat to low, cover & simmer for about 45 minutes or until the rice is tender (my rice said to cook for 50 minutes). Drain any remaining water.

Heat olive oil over medium high heat in a skillet. Add the shallot, onion & peppers & cook until the onion is translucent. (Omitted all of that). Add the sausage& heat until it is cooked through, stirring from time to time. Stir in rice. Salt & pepper if needed.

Spoon rice & sausage filling into the squash & serve.

Serves two as an entrée.

I also made beer bread today. I L-O-V-E pumpkin beer but since I am knocked up I clearly can not indulge in any pumpkin beer this year, sadly!!! I had a box of trader joe’s beer bread mix in the cabinet and Chris had a couple of  bottles of pumpkin beer in the fridge (how dare he drink when I can’t!!!). So I made the beer bread with the pumpkin beer. It didn’t come out very pumkin-y but it was still yummy! the best part is the top, the crust is crunchy goodness. Guess that comes from the 1/2stick of melted butter TJ’s tells you to put on top. The mix is a good one! really simple. Will definitely try it out again with different beers.

Leave a Reply

