RSS Feed

CSA eats! carrots & lettuce, make buffalo chicken salad with blue cheese dressing

Posted on

so I realize this is likely my millionth post about lettuce (just kidding!)
tonight I made a buffalo chicken salad with carrots of course and homemade blue cheese dressing. I have 2 favorite new things now!

favorite #1 carrot ribbons! did you know that if you use your vegetable peeler to peel the whole carrot (not just to take of the skin), you get gorgeous, fun, little carrot ribbons?! I did not! I realize I am a bit silly, and that people have probably been doing this exact thing for centuries but it just occurred to me tonight while peeling off the skin to do it. also it really helps to have fresh carrots with just a little of the stems still on, that way you have something to grasp so you get a nice long ribbon the length of the carrot.

favorite #2 homemade blue cheese dressing. it rocks!!!!!!!! seriously! why would anyone ever buy a bottle of it again. maybe the amazing raw milk blue cheese crumbles from whole foods and kate’s real buttermilk helped!

I followed the recipes below from Ellie Krieger. I changed up some stuff though. would love a more crispy, heavier amount of seasoning on the chicken next time. will have to try to figure that out.

Buffalo Chicken Salad
serves 4
Ingredients
2 (8-ounce) boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (I just used my favorite cut, chicken tenders, didn’t have a pound either, more like half probably)
2 tablespoons cayenne pepper hot sauce (or other hot sauce), plus more to taste (I only had my choula hot sauce, the mexican chili garlic one)
2 teaspoons olive oil
2 hearts Romaine, cut into 1-inch strips (about 8 cups) (I used the little bit of romaine I had left from 2 CSA’s ago, still good! plus cut up some of the newer red leaf to use with left over chicken for lunch for Chris since I dined alone tonight)
4 celery stalks, thinly sliced (omitted, not my fav)
2 carrots, coarsely grated (see my revelation above)
2 scallions, green part only, sliced (omitted, didn’t have any)
1/2 cup Blue Cheese Dressing, recipe follows

Directions
Preheat the broiler. Put the chicken between 2 sheets of waxed paper and pound with a mallet or hammer so the chicken is an even thickness of about 3/4-inch, then cut the chicken crosswise into 1/2-inch strips. (didn’t have to do this, since I had thin chicken tender cuts of breast)
In a large bowl, combine the hot sauce and the oil, add chicken and toss until the chicken is well coated. Arrange the chicken on a baking sheet and broil until it is cooked through, about 4 to 6 minutes, turning once. (I did 3 minutes one side, then 4 minutes the other side)

In a large bowl combine the Romaine, celery, shredded carrots and scallions. Toss with the dressing. Divide the greens between 4 plates, top with the chicken. Serve with extra hot sauce. (I like to dip into the dressing or just drizzle on top so that is what I did).

Blue Cheese Dressing:
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
1/4 cup lowfat buttermilk
1/4 cup plain fat-free yogurt (used the whole 6 oz container)
1 tablespoon white vinegar (omitted)
1/2 teaspoon sugar (omitted)
1/3 cup crumbled blue cheese (I did 1/3  & then wound up adding another 1/3)
Salt and freshly ground pepper

Fold a full sheet of paper towel into quarters and put it into a small bowl. Spoon the yogurt onto the paper towel and place in the refrigerator for 20 minutes to drain and thicken. (I totally did not read ahead and see this and had already put the 1/4 cup of yogurt in a bowl and had already put in the buttermilk, mayo, etc. I was going to use greek yogurt cause I love it, but didn’t, that would have eliminated the need for draining the yogurt anyways, wonder why they don’t suggest that in first place! anyways the yogurt i used stonyfield is on the thick side anyway, but to thicken things up I wound up just adding the res tof the the6 oz container. worked great. plus next time I’d still do that but maybe with greek yogurt and totally omit the mayo, I hate mayo.)
In a medium bowl, whisk the buttermilk and thickened yogurt into the mayonnaise until smooth. Add the vinegar and sugar (omitted) and continue to whisk until all the ingredients are well combined. Stir in the blue cheese and season, to taste, with salt and pepper. (I kind of mashed the blue cheese a little into the dressing)

Yield: 3/4 cup

Leave a Reply

