RSS Feed

CSA eats! beets, starring in oven chicken with roasted beets

Posted on

so I read like three million recipes for roasted beets. I had roasted beets recently in Newport at the Hyatt, and they were AMAZING! I had no idea what they did to them though. I thought maybe some balsamic but I think I was wrong. Most recipes said to either roast on a baking sheet uncovered, or wrap each one in foil, or place them all in a casserole dish and cover. Some said to put olive oil and/or salt and pepper. Some said to cut them first, some said to keep them whole. Also they all varied in temperature to cook them at. I decided to keep them whole. gave them a good scrub. Wrapped each one individually. Put in oven at 425 for 1 hour. When I took them out the skins peeled right off and turned my hands hot pink while peeling! I diced them up. They tasted delicious! I decided to toss with a bit of olive oil, and then put wrapped in the foil and put in oven for another 2 minutes.  The balsamic was a silly idea. I liked them a lot better before balsamic. I also sautéed the greens in olive oil. we weren’t crazy about them though, too bitter. served with oven fried honey balsamic chicken.

Leave a Reply

