RSS Feed

CSA eats! daikon, kohlrabi, salad turnips & scallions, starring in hodgepodge of veggies

Posted on

so I decided to sauté in olive oil the following:
1 daikon, peeled and sliced thin
2 kohlrabi, sliced thin
the greens from the 2 kohlrabi
2 salad turnips, sliced thin
bunch of red scallions, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, diced
minced garlic
minced ginger
a small container of shiitake mushrooms
2 shallots, sliced

I sautéed in olive oil for about 10 minutes. the kohlrabi and turnips got nice a browned. I then tossed them with a small amount of sesame oil, tamari soy sauce and rice wine vinegar. served along side grilled hoisin garlic Asian glaze sirloin tips. it was delicious!!!

I used this recipe below for inspiration, it was in the CSA email this week.

Kohlrabi Sautee
Farmacopeia by Pete Napolitano
Sautee kohlrabi in a little peanut oil with shiitake mushrooms, sweet red pepper, shallots, minced gingerroot and cashew or pine nuts. Season with rice wine, soy sauce, sesame oil and a pinch of sugar. You can also thicken this with a little cornstarch mixed with water.

2 responses »

  1. I’m also a Picadilly CSA shareholder. I did a similar dish except that I followed it with a ‘Porter reduction’. I used ~1/2 pint of a 6.5% Porter beer I’d made (I’m a homebrewer) after doing the scallions, garlic scapes, kohlrabi, daikon & a couple of red peppers (for color) in olive oil. Ginger & soy sauce were the only additional seasoning required – the daikon was spicy enough. The sweetness in the reduced beer nicely offset the bitterness in the kohlrabi.

    One could probably substitute something like Bell’s or Anchor Porter or even Brooklyn Brewery’s Double Chocolate (or a friend’s homebrewed Porter…) for the beer I used.

    ~5′ sautee in the oil and then ~15-20 minutes for the reduction.

    It tasted great and since the alcohol evaporates, I can serve it to kids and get my 8 year old to eat his vegetables by telling him it was ‘made with beer!’.

    We served this alongside a pork loin we did on our grill and a spinach/greek salad (spinach from Picadilly).

    Keep up the great recipes – very good inspiration for our own use of our CSA share.

    Reply
    • sounds delicious!!! what a great idea to use beer and make a reduction. Our best friends, Aaron & Laura, whom we share the CSA share with, do some home brewing too, so we will definitely need to try your recipe idea out, with one of their brews. P.S. I love Brooklyn Brewery, but I’ve never had their Double Chocolate. Must get it, sounds like my kind of beer.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

