RSS Feed

CSA eats! arugula, starring in Sirloin Orzo Salad with Goat Cheese

Posted on

So tonight I decided to make two dishes at once, since tomorrow starts a new week for the CSA and Chris is out at the Phish concert, and I had nothing else to do! My kitchen was consumed! the clean up was awful! but it was nice to just cook and be done with it. Now we have lunch for tomorrow and dinner, plus I had dinner tonight. This was one of the dishes I made tonight I changed it up a bit from the original recipe. my notes are added. I am not big into measuring things or following measurements! I ate it still a little warm for dinner and it was great! I hope it tastes good for lunch tomorrow. I am having reservations about using the beef in a cold salad, though, and hope it tastes good after being refrigerated. The grass fed sirloin strips were oh so good though tonight!

Chicken Orzo Salad with Goat Cheese
courtesy of Cooking Light, serves 6
copied from I Pray to Gouda

1 1/4 cups uncooked orzo (that’s about half a box of barilla orzo)
3 cups chopped grilled chicken breast strips (I used some grass fed sirloin stir fry strips, lass than half a pound, just sautéed in a tiny bit of olive oil, it cooked up real quick!)
1 1/2 cups trimmed arugula (not sure how much I had)
1 cup grape tomatoes, halved (used about half a pint)
1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper (used a whole medium sized pepper)
1/4 cup prechopped red onion (I used half an onion)
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil (just plucked some leaves from my garden)
1 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano (just plucked a stem from my garden! fresh oregano smells AMAZING!)
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar (didn’t measure)
1 tablespoon extravirgin olive oil (didn’t measure)
1/8 teaspoon salt (didn’t measure)
1/8 teaspoon black pepper (didn’t measure)
6 tablespoons (1 1/2 ounces) crumbled goat cheese (just used a whole 4 oz container, I love goat cheese!!!)

1. Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat; drain well.
2. Combine pasta, chicken (beef), and the next 6 ingredients (through oregano) in a large bowl; toss well.
3. Combine vinegar, oil, salt, and black pepper in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk. Drizzle vinegar mixture over pasta mixture; toss well to coat. (I skipped that whole part, just threw in each of those ingredients and tossed well). Sprinkle with cheese. (more like stirred in a whole container!)

Leave a Reply

