RSS Feed

overnight oats

Posted on

I like oatmeal a lot but don’t won’t to use those instant packets with who knows what is in it. too much added sugar and chemicals, etc. however I also do not want to have to take the time to cook my oats, or take time to make them in the morning either! I then stumbled upon Kath Eats Real Food and her Tribute to Oatmeal and her post on Overnight Oats.  so I figured overnight oats would be super easy to whip up individual containers of in advance and stash in the fridge. seems on Kath’s site the comments mention not even heating it up in the morning just eating as is or microwaving for a brief time just to get the chill out. that seems super easy! I already have a container of Old Wessex all natural 100% whole grain instant oatmeal (the people on Kath’s comments mention that instant would be OK, though the recipe is really for just regular oats).  I added to that some organic stonyfield fat free french vanilla yogurt and stonyfield organic fat free milk. all in 1/2 cup measurements. I really wanted to add some pumpkin but a the market today I couldn’t seem to find any!!!!! so weird.  I think in the morning I may add some dried cranberries and maybe some almonds, oooh and maybe some maple syrup (just got a stash on my recent trip to vermont!) or honey. have been thinking of buying the new almond milk out there and think that would be good with this too. update: ate it and it was good! I actually did not wind up adding anything. it was fairly sweet all on it’s own from the french vanilla yogurt. actually a little too sweet! next time I’ll use plain or greek yogurt (my fav!).

1/2 cup Old Wessex all natural 100% whole grain instant oatmeal

1/2 cup organic stonyfield fat free french vanilla yogurt

1/2 cup stonyfield organic fat free milk

Leave a Reply

