RSS Feed

chocolate oatmeal cake

Posted on

soooo I have this recipe for oatmeal cake on the back of my oatmeal container. I thought I could make oatmeal muffins with the same recipe. I also thought I could add chocolate chips to it and have chocolate chip oatmeal muffins. I was wrong. Upon making the batter, I thought it was too liquidey (yes I know this is not a real word) to make muffins with. Also I became unsure about how much batter to put in each muffin cup. So scratch the muffin idea. On to the recommend 13×9 inch pan. But I still have a bag of chocolate chips! so I stir them in and they melt pretty instantly. Duh, cause the batter is hot! so now there are no chips, but it did turn a nice chocolate color! it tastes pretty good too. super soft and moist. not very chocolatey at all though. but still tastes really good. I think it would be nice with some pumpkin or applesauce in the batter

Instant Oatmeal Cake from my container of Old Wessex all natural 100% whole grain instant oatmeal

1 1/2 cups prepared Old Wessex Instant Oatmeal (which they don’t tell you how much dry that is! I figured it out though. it’s 2 servings. which is 1 3/4 cups boiling water mixed into 1 cup of oats)
1/4 cups butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
12 oz package of semi sweet chocolate chips

in a medium sauce pan, heat the butter and sugars together. add the eggs and the oatmeal and mix well. then add the other dry ingredients. spread in a greased 9×13 inch pan and bake at 350 for 30 – 35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

