RSS Feed

Cheddar Ale Spread

Posted on

Deb & Eli are having a “beer party”. everyone is bringing either beer, something made with beer or something that goes with beer. I am bringing this! other ideas I had were beer bread or chocolate stout cake, but other people are already bringing those, and this was easier! (I am not much of a baker) Not sure about if I like the way it tastes though. We’ll see what people at the party think. I loathe mustard, especially Dijon mustard, and despite the small amount the recipe calls for I swear I can taste it, and I think that is what is putting me off about it. Obviously “normal” people will not think this way. Serving this with sourdough nibblers (pretzels). Oh and I am now forced to drink the left over opened beer in the middle of the afternoon, which isn’t a bad thing! definitely a plus to making this. p.s. the people at the party liked it. most of it was gone. I had it refrigerated after I made it and then it was in the car for over an hour.  but it was still pretty cold when we got there. when it’s cold, it’s hard! so it had to warm up for a while, then I had to stir it up to soften it. definitely needs to sit out for a while if refrigerated.

Cheddar Ale Spread from Lemons & Love who got it from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody

INGREDIENTS
8 ounces cream cheese
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
2 ½ cups shredded extra-sharp Cheddar cheese (I used Cabot)
2 tablespoons heavy cream
¼ teaspoon hot sauce
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ cup flavorful beer (I used regular Sam Adams)
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

DIRECTIONS
Combine the cream cheese, mustard, Cheddar, cream, hot sauce, and salt in a food processor. Process for about 30 seconds, add the beer, and continue processing until very smooth. Pulse in the parsley until just dispersed.
Can be stored in fridge for up to 4 days. You will want to take it out an hour before serving if you do refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

