RSS Feed

crockpot: Chili Chicken Tacos

Posted on

had this at Gordon & Amanda’s recently! super good! so I had to try it out myself! Served in hard taco shells with sour cream, salsa, onion and shredded Mexican cheese. Used the extra sauce and some pieces of the chili peppers to mix into some precooked white rice. Instant Mexican rice! Planning on using leftovers to make quesadillas one night this week. saved the sauce too.

Slow-Cooker Chili Chicken Tacos From Everyday Food, October 2008
Serves 4

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs (about 6)
  • 4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced (I used my jarred minced garlic, probably the equivalent of 6 cloves)
  • 1/2 cup prepared tomato salsa (I used Green Mountain Gringo Medium Salsa)
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons chopped canned chipotle chiles in adobo (I used the whole 7.5 oz can)
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 8 hard corn taco shells
  • Cilantro, shredded cheese, lime wedges, salsa and sour cream, for serving (optional)
  1. In slow cooker, combine chicken, garlic, salsa, chiles, chili powder, 1 teaspoon salt, and teaspoon pepper. Cover; cook on high, 4 hours (or on low, 8 hours). (I did low on 8 hours)
  2. Transfer chicken to a serving bowl, and shred, using two forks; moisten with cooking juices. Serve in taco shells, with toppings, if desired.

3 responses »

  1. Nice! I made quesadillas with the leftovers, too. Used the extra sauce for them as well. The rice is a great idea! Did the whole can of peppers make it crazy spicy?

    I will definitely be making these again!

    Reply
    • it wasn’t crazy spicy at all. we like spicy food though so maybe I wouldn’t notice? I think it was the same spiciness as yours. I am glad I used the whole jar. it was great. just ran out of sauce though, and still have a ton of chicken left!!!!! have to think of a way to get more sauce next time!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: CSA eats! lettuce, staring in Chili Chicken Taco Salad « cibo alimentare mangiare

Leave a Reply

