RSS Feed

Easter Lasagna

Posted on

every year I make the lasagna for Easter. I think this year is #4.

I never write down the recipe and every year I get frantic trying to figure out what I did the year before and how much of each ingredient to buy, etc!

This year I am writing it down!!!

I know I base it off of 4 different recipes I have plus just on memory of years past and watching my grandma make it.

I need to make two 9×13 trays.

I of course make my own gravy. I will double my gravy and hope it is enough for two trays of lasagna plus extra for serving.

I think I need a 2lb container of ricotta for each one, plus a 16oz block of mozzarella for each one (maybe more mozzarella than that?). I believe last year I added in some provolone which I will do again, but I can’t recall how much.

will also add meat to the gravy, thinking of putting in some ground sausage too this year.

so far here is a rough draft of the recipe (for one lasagna)

Ingredients:
Gravy:

Batch of Gravy (will double!) (I use 3 – 28 oz cans of Tuttorusso crushed tomatoes with basil and 1 small cans of contadina tomato paste with roasted garlic, and add in EVOO, garlic, garlic powder, grated cheese, sugar, basil, oregano, crushed red pepper, salt and pepper,etc. the key is to let simmer for many hours.) I put some aside for using for topping/leftovers and bottom of the pan. The rest gets mixed with the meat and layered into the lasagna. (I wound up using 8 cans of crushed and 2 cans of paste, after assembling the lasagna’s I wound up adding about 2 cups of water to the left over sauce. My sauce is always really thick, which I like, but I needed to make it stretch a bit more!)

Layer One – Noodles:
16 lasagna noodles (depends on size of pan usually 4 layers of 4 noodles), cooked until al dente, I prefer Barilla noodles

Layer Two – Filling: combine the following:
2 lbs Ricotta cheese (one large container), I prefer Sorrento whole milk
2 eggs
1/4 cup grated Locatelli
small amount of dried parsley

Layer Three – Cheese Topping:
1 lb freshly shredded mozzarella cheese, I prefer a block of Sorrento wbole milk shredded
4 oz freshly shredded provolone cheese

Layer Four – Meat/Gravy:
1/2 lb sweet sausage, casings removed
1/2 lb lean ground beef
brown all in a skillet with EVOO until no longer pink
mix in with some of the gravy, separated

Assembly:
-spoon some plain gravy into the bottom of a 9×13 pan to coat
(I use the silver disposable kind for holidays)
-lay down 4 noodles, slightly overlapping
-cover with ricotta mixture
-cover with cheese topping
-cover with meat/gravy mixture – add some extra plain gravy too
(also then sprinkle some grated cheese on top)
-repeat with noodles

at the top just cover noodles with plain gravy, cheese topping and more grated cheese sprinkled on top

above can be done a day ahead

bake in a preheated 350 degree oven, allow to cool 30 minutes – 1 hour prior to cutting and serving.

some pics of some sad leftovers!



Leave a Reply

