RSS Feed

eggplant rollatini

This was pretty good! Having a mandoline makes all the difference. I couldn’t imagine having to cut the slices by hand. They came out perfect and the exact right size. I wound up needing a lot more egg but less breadcrumbs then it called for. When it came to the filling, I think it needed a lot more ricotta than it called for. I had 20 slices and ran out of filling after about 12, and I wasn’t even using as much as it said to. I probably only used about 1 – 2 tablespoons. I also cut way back on the amount of parmesan it called for in the breadcrumbs, filling and on top. I made my own sauce and felt it could’ve used some sauce on the bottom of the dish before putting the rolls in. I’m not sure how much I put on top as I didn’t measure it. Some grated mozzarella on top might be nice too. Could’ve bought the store shredded kind though instead of grating it myself. As well as part skim mozzarella and ricotta to save some calories and fat. I served it with a little bit of fettucine rigati. 2 rolls are more than enough for a serving and I made 20. Yummy!






Eggplant Rollatini Bon Appétit | September 2002

Yield: Makes 6 main-course servings (more like 10 – 2 piece servings!)

Nonstick olive oil spray
All purpose flour
4 large eggs, beaten to blend – I needed to use more eggs
3 1/2 cups fresh breadcrumbs made from crustless French bread – I used progresso Itlalian style prepared breadcrumbs
2 2/3 cups grated Parmesan cheese (about 8 ounces) – I probably used less than this
18 1/4- to 1/3-inch-thick lengthwise eggplant slices (from 2 medium) – I got about 20 or so good slices. having a mandoline really made this task easy! I can’t imagine doing it by hand. I got perfect 1/4 slices.

3 cups (packed) coarsely grated whole-milk mozzarella cheese (about 12 ounces) – I bought a 16 oz block and grated it fresh
1 1/4 cups ricotta cheese (preferably whole-milk) – I definitely needed more! I ran out of filling.
3/4 cup chopped fresh basil leaves – I just used a whole bunch

3 cups purchased marinara sauce – I made my own sauce, I didn’t measure how much I put on top

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray 3 baking sheets and one 13x9x2-inch glass baking dish with nonstick spray. Place flour in 1 wide shallow bowl, eggs in second bowl, and breadcrumbs mixed with 1 cup Parmesan cheese in another. Sprinkle each eggplant slice with salt and pepper (I forgot this part!). Coat each slice with flour, then beaten egg, and finally breadcrumb mixture. Arrange eggplant slices in single layer on prepared sheets. Bake eggplant in batches until coating is golden, turning after 15 minutes, about 30 minutes total. Cool on sheets.

Mix mozzarella cheese, ricotta cheese, basil, and 1 cup Parmesan cheese in medium bowl. Season filling with salt and pepper (didn’t do this). Divide filling among eggplant slices (about 3 tablespoons per slice); spread evenly – 3 tablespoons is alot, I used less than that and still ran out of filling, and needed to make more filling. Starting at 1 short end, roll up eggplant slices, enclosing filling. Arrange rolls, seam side down, in prepared baking dish. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover and chill.)

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spoon marinara sauce over rolls; sprinkle with remaining 2/3 cup Parmesan cheese. Bake uncovered until rollatini are heated through and mozzarella cheese melts, about 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

