RSS Feed

a new take on Stuffed Peppers

Posted on

I had written down this recipe one summer back in 2006 from a magazine laying around our cape house. I have no idea which one! I thought it was about time we tried it, though we have a stuffed pepper recipe by betty crocker that we love and make all the time, I figured we needed to shake it up a bit!



Cornbread Stuffed Peppers
6 servings

3 large sweet red peppers
1 1/2 cups warm water
2 tablespoons unsalted butter (I used olive oil mister for the pan instead)
1 medium ear of corn, kernels removed, about 2/3 cup (I used one very small can of corn)
1 small onion, chopped
4 hot Italian turkey sausage, about 3/4 lb, casings removed (I used 6 hot Italian pork sausage, about 1+ lb)
1 6 oz box corn bread stuffing
2 tbsp fresh parsley (omitted)
3/4 cup shredded pepper jack cheese about 2 1/2 oz (I used low fat mozzerrella)

1. preheat oven to 350. slice peppers in half. put peppers cut side down in a 13x9x2 in pan, add 1/2 cup water to dish, cover with plastic wrap and microwave on high for 4 minutes. drain. (I didn’t follow this part… first my 13×9 pan won’t fit in my microwave, I don’t know whose would. then there is no way I would microwave plastic wrap, that is a big no-no!! so I put the peppers on a dish and covered with the microwave cover thing I have, I didn’t add any water. worked fine!)

2. melt butter in medium pot (I just sprayed with olive oil). cook onion and corn for 4 minutes. add sausage and cook for 5 minutes. add 1 cup of water and simmer. add stuffing and stir 1 – 2 times. remove from heat and cover. let stand for 5 minutes. uncover and stir in parsley. (I skipped the covering and waiting part, and the parsley)

3. flip the peppers over, in the 13x9x2 in dish. stuff each with a bout 1 cup of the filling. sprinkle the cheese on top.

4. bake at 350 for 18 – 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

