RSS Feed

Pork and Vegetable Potstickers with Asian Brown Rice

Posted on

I made this tonight. What did I learn?? The recipe is way too large! It made 39 potstickers. My frying pan only held 13, so I had to make 3 batches. Plus they are a PITA to assemble. Assembling one batch would have been much more pleasant and not a pain at all! so I definitely plan next time on halving if not quartering the recipe! There were obviously way too many for us to eat in one sitting, but oh my are they delicious!!! I love them. The rice is really good too. Except 2 cups of brown rice is an entire box. I used 1 cup instead, but still used the same amount of veggies in it. It was really good but again too much, there is enough for leftovers as well! Fresh ginger is amazing. I don’t think I’ve ever used it before. I had to do a little research to figure out how to use it once I bought some at the store. I was lucky to find a really small piece and it cost all of 35 cents. You do have to peel it which was very easy to do. If you don’t plan on using it all, the best thing to do is to freeze the rest. I learned that from Giada one day. Fresh ginger smells and tastes amazing! I also was lucky to find bok choy and wonton wrappers along with the ginger root right at my little neighborhood market!






Pork and Vegetable Potstickers and Asian Brown Rice from I Pray to Gouda
1 lb ground pork
1 cup of bok choy (or Napa Cabbage), cut into thin strips
3 tsp minced, fresh ginger
1 egg
2 Tb sesame oil
2 tsp soy sauce
2 cloves garlic, minced
wonton wrappers
chicken stock

In a large bowl, combine the pork, ginger, garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil, egg and cabbage. Stir until well mixed.

Place 1 heaping teaspoon of pork filling onto each wonton skin. Moisten edges with water and fold edges over to form a triangle shape. Roll edges slightly to seal in filling. Set dumplings aside on a lightly floured surface until ready to cook.

To cook: coat a saute pan well with oil (can be olive, canola, whatever). Heat to medium-high and lay potstickers down on their flat side. Once they’ve browned, add a cup of chicken stock. Immediately cover, as oil will splash. Cook for five minutes.

Asian Brown Rice (a healthy alternative!)
2 cups brown rice
1 red bell pepper, chopped into small pieces
4 green onions, chopped
Dash of soy
Dash of sesame oil
1 tsp minced garlic

Cook brown rice in chicken broth; once drained, add ingredients and stir.

One response »

  1. Pingback: winter CSA 2013 – month 1 | dolce vita verde

Leave a Reply

